Department for Workforce Investment
Vocational rehabilitation center graduates 112 students from 44 counties

Press Release Date:  Tuesday, June 21, 2005  
Contact Information:  Contact: Kitty Armstrong McAllister
502) 564-6606, ext. 146

One hundred twelve students from 44 counties across Kentucky participated in the Carl D. Perkins Comprehensive Rehabilitation Center’s graduation ceremony on Friday, June 17, in Thelma, Ky. The graduates were from the center’s 22 vocational programs, the External Diploma Program and the GED program.

Keynote speaker Laura E. Owens, Department for Workforce Investment commissioner, offered comments. “All of the graduates are to be commended, not only for your hard work, but also for the obstacles that you dared to overcome. You have knocked down barriers…You have developed the skills that employers are looking for and your diploma is the proof,” stated Owens.

Rhonda Dalton, a cosmetology student and commencement speaker from Inez, Ky. advised fellow students,  “Never stop learning.” She said, “My teachers have told me to never stop learning. There’s always something new. And never sell yourself short and do not give up. If I can do it, anybody can do it.”

GED commencement speaker Stephanie Lorin High, from Augusta, Ky., commented, "Keep working for your goals, don't let a disability hold you back. What doesn't kill us, makes us only stronger. And every day in every way, we get better at something else."

 Since 1973, the Carl D. Perkins Comprehensive Rehabilitation Center (<>) has assisted Kentuckians with disabilities.  It is one of nine state-operated comprehensive centers operating in the U.S., serving approximately 38,000 Kentuckians. The center is part of the Office of Vocational Rehabilitation, an agency in the Department for Workforce Investment. The Kentucky Education Cabinet coordinates learning programs from P-16, and manages and supports training and employment functions in the Department for Workforce Investment. For more information about our programs, visit <> or <>, or call 502-564-6606.

2005 Graduates of Carl D. Perkins Vocational Training Center


Bowen, Alex Peewee Valley
Brady, Jeffery Springfield
DeValk, Greg  Louisville
Dungy, Victor Hopkinsville
McClain, Brandon  Fort Knox
Schindler, Tony  Columbia
Sparks, Daniel  Malone
Taylor, Amanda  Bowling Green


Brunner, James Michael  Shelbyville
Cecil, Courtney  Jeffersonville
Chatham, April Ghent
Clinkenbeard, Devin Radcliff
Clinkenbeard, Dustin Radcliff
Coolidge, Tara Falls of Rough
Dinsmore, David Berea
Farrow, Michael Carlisle
Fryer, Ben Butler
Henson, Chris Shepherdsville
Jones, Joe Prestonsburg
Lambert, Joey Lawrenceburg
LaRose, Therion Russell
Lee, Brian Campbellsville
Long, Joshua Evarts
Mayhorn, Pavielle Lexington
Polston, Richard Louisville
Porter, Daniel Louisville
Reed, Kenneth Cynthiana
Reid, Josh Kuttawa
Rice, Nora Mayslick
Rose, John Pikeville
Saylor, Charlie Pikeville
Wright, Robert Hudson


Fulton, Sara Berea
Giles, Revea Louisville
Hevier, Cassandra Elizabethtown
Hill, Marsha Ashland
Howlett, Valorie Louisville
Hurst, Pearlena Cynthiana
Jones, Mary Prestonsburg
Skaggs, Johanna Henderson
Weddington, Zamira Salyersville
Wells, Julie Wittensville
Wilks, Christopher Ashland


Dalton, Rhonda Inez
Marcum, Judy Inez
Roberts, Cathryn Louisa
Scott, Angie Stambaugh
Vanover, Debbie Tomahawk


Adkins, Tommy Inez
Baldwin, Dessie Paintsville
Bentley, Jeanette Teaberry
Butcher, Charlotte Paintsville
Coleman, Sarah Regina
Dalton, Phillip Inez
Davis, Jane Louisa
Evans, Linda Pilgram
Fink, James Pikeville
Holbrook, Tammy Thelma
Hunter, Robert Teaberry
Justice, Lucy Raccoon
Lee, Roger Wittensville
Marshall, Brenda Thelma
McKinney, Gormond Teaberry
Mollette, Reba Meally
Mullins, Laverne Elkhorn City
Muncy, Brenda Inez
Robinson, Melinda Pikeville
Slone, Donna Meally
Stanley, Jennifer Pikeville
Tackett, Jerry K. Hi Hat
Thacker, Pamela Stone
Yates, Anna Prestonsburg


Brohm, Brian  Louisville
Everly, Jennifer Madisonville
Nieto, Shanna Campbellsville


Blevins, Frank Nicholasville
Evans, Raymond Paintsville
Goble, Donald Columbia
Henry, Michael Jenkins
High, Stephanie Lorin Augusta
Johnson, Robert Olive Hill
Meade, Joy Flat Gap
Sheeley, Raleigh Travis Louisville


Carr, Samantha Owensboro
Castle, Jerry DeBord
Combs, Stephen Lexington
Grace, Jr. Clarence Debord
Jones, Andrew Newport
LaRose, Curtis Russell
Lieggi, Mark Vine Grove
Rogers, Brenda Danville
Shrout, Michael Louisville
Stephenson, Jeremy Mayfield
Vowels, Robert Jeffersontown
Waweru, Maureen Lexington
Webb, Marsha Campbellsville
White, Paul Louisville
Williams, Wesley  Nicholsville
Wood, Josh Brandenburg


McClain, John Georgetown


Hall, Tina Ulysses
Hassan, Kelief Louisville
Mink, Robin Lexington
Stewart, Trevor Louisville


Elkins, Amanda Lick Creek
Elliott, Adam (Also in Material Management) Louisville
Henson, Ashley Melvin
Mummert, Larissa  Huntington
Stafford, Jasmine Elizabethtown
Taylor, Tiffany Louisville
Williams, Rachel Swamp Branch


McCall, Adam Carlisle
Moser III, William New Haven
Riffe III, William Rush
Stapleton, Steven Ashland


Related Content
Photos and cutlines of the graduation can be downloaded at <> . Photos are by Tim Thornberry, Kentucky Education Cabinet.