Commission on Women
Governor Beshear Appoints Members to Kentucky Commission on Women

Press Release Date:  Wednesday, February 06, 2008  
Contact Information:  Vicki Glass
Work: 502-564-2611
Cell: 502-382-6973

FRANKFORT, KY (February 6, 2008) – Gov. Steve Beshear has the following members to the Kentucky Commission on Women. These appointments will serve for terms expiring Jan. 17, 2012.

Vera A. Newton, is a safety trainer for the Ford Motor Company assembly plant in Louisville. She replaces Alois McIntyre Moore, whose term has expired.

Aloma Williams Dew, is a conservation organizer for the Sierra Club in Owensboro. She replaces Wilma Lee Cooper, whose term has expired. Dew will serve as Chair of the Commission.

Carolyn O’Daniel, is the Dean of Allied Health and Nursing at Jefferson Community and Technical College in Louisville. She replaces Patricia A. Freibert, whose term has expired.

Kerry S. Morgan, is an attorney with Breen & Morgan in Bowling Green. She replaces Martie Keen Wiles, whose term has expired.

Joan Gregory, is a retired teacher and a part-time coordinator of the International Baccalaureate program at Holmes High School in Covington. She replaces Sarah Blanken Kahmann, whose term has expired. 

The Kentucky Commission on Women is dedicated to elevating the status of women and girls in the Commonwealth, empowering them to overcome barriers to equity, and expanding opportunities to achieve their fullest potential.

 The group is mandated to promote, encourage and provide advisory assistance in the establishment of local volunteer community improvement programs for, and in the interest of, women.  It also consults with the Governor on important women’s issues.