Kentucky State Fair Board
HELP WANTED FOR THE KENTUCKY STATE FAIR

Press Release Date:  Monday, August 01, 2005  
Contact Information:  Amanda Storment
VP / PR & Media
(502) 367-5180
 


LOUISVILLE, KY … Applications for temporary workers for the Kentucky State Fair are being accepted beginning Monday, August 8. Positions for hire include grounds, housekeeping, admission gates, tour guides, tram drivers and maintenance staff.  Wages start at $6.50 an hour, with some positions paying slightly more. The Fair starts on Thursday, August 18 and runs through Sunday, August 28.

Those seeking to apply may do so in the East Hall of the Kentucky Fair & Exposition Center (KFEC) from Monday, August 8, through the morning of Friday, August 12. After noon on Friday and through Sunday, August 28, applicants should report to the Kentucky State Fair Employment Trailer located next to The Armory and Cracker Barrel (near Gate 4 of KFEC) off Crittenden Drive.

HOURS THAT APPLICATIONS WILL BE ACCEPTED ARE AS FOLLOWS:
East Hall:
Mon., Aug. 8 – Thurs., Aug. 11  8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Fri., Aug. 12    8 a.m. – Noon

Employment Trailer:
Fri., Aug. 12    Noon – 4:30 p.m.
Sat., Aug. 13 – Mon., Aug. 15  8 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Tues., Aug. 16    6 a.m. – 6 p.m.
Wed., Aug. 17 – Thurs., Aug. 18 6 a.m. – Midnight
Fri., Aug. 19    6 a.m. – 8 p.m.
Sat., Aug 20    6 a.m. - Midnight
Sun, Aug. 21 – Fri., Aug. 26  6 a.m. – 8 p.m.
Sat., Aug. 27    6 a.m. – Midnight
Sun., Aug. 28    6 a.m. – 4 p.m.

All applicants must be at least 18 years of age and apply in person. For additional information, call (502) 367-5086 for the East Hall office, or (502) 367-5235 for the Employment Trailer. Temporary jobs will also be available after the Fair. Those interested in working after August 28 may apply at KFEC’s administrative office in the front of Freedom Hall.

For more information about the Kentucky State Fair, visit www.kystatefair.org.

                                                                   ###