Secretary of State
Nine New Judicial Positions to Appear on 2007 Ballot; Filing Begins Jan. 2

Press Release Date:  Wednesday, December 27, 2006  
Contact Information:  Les Fugate, Director of Communications
Office of the Secretary of State
Office: (502) 564-3490
Cell: (502) 229-3803

(Frankfort, KY) Secretary of State Trey Grayson announced today that the Office of the Secretary of State will begin accepting filings for nine (9) newly created judicial positions on Tuesday, January 2, 2007. The positions, created by the passage of House Bill 382 as enacted by the 2006 General Assembly and provided by gubernatorial veto, include seven (7) new circuit judgeships and two (2) district judgeships with an effective date of January 1, 2007.

 “It is important for citizens to realize that these are new positions, and thus, there are no current candidates for the race,” stated Secretary Grayson.  “I would encourage all interested and eligible citizens to contact our office for a candidate filing packet if they are interested in filing for one of the races.”

The following information details the new positions:



County of:                     Hopkins            Circuit Judge

                                                                        “Family Court”

                                                                        4th Judicial Circuit

                                                                        2nd Division


            County of:                     Hardin              Circuit Judge

                                                                        “Family Court”

                                                                        9th Judicial Circuit

                                                                        4th Division


            Counties of:                   Bourbon            Circuit Judge

                                                Scott                 “Family Court”

                                                Woodford         14th Judicial Circuit

                                                                        3rd Division


            Counties of:                   Breathitt           Circuit Judge

                                                Powell              “Family Court”

                                                Wolfe               39th Judicial Circuit

                                                                        2nd Division


            Counties of:                   Allen                Circuit Judge

                                                Simpson            “Family Court”

                                                                        49th Judicial Circuit

                                                                        2nd Division


            Counties of:                   Boone               Circuit Judge

                                                Gallatin             54th Judicial Circuit

                                                                        3rd Division


            Counties of:                   Russell              Circuit Judge

                                                Wayne              “Family Court”

                                                                        57th Judicial Circuit

                                                                        2nd Division




            County of:                     Warren             District Judge

                                                                        8th Judicial District

                                                                        3rd Division


            Counties of:                   Clark                District Judge

                                                Madison            25th Judicial District

                                                                        3rd Division


Some of the qualifications for a circuit judge include: U.S. citizenship, a resident of both the Commonwealth and of the district from which he is elected for 2 years next preceding his taking office, licensed to practice law in the courts of the Commonwealth, and a licensed attorney for at least 8 years.  Qualifications for district judges are similar except that they need only have been a licensed attorney for 2 years.  Candidates must file with the Office of the Secretary of State and must provide a $200 filing fee when submitting their judicial nominating petition.  Judges elected to these judgeships will serve the remainder of the term with next elections to be held for the circuit judgeships in 2014 and the district judgeships in 2010, respectively.

Candidates have until 4:00 p.m. on Tuesday, January 30, 2007 to submit their judicial nominating petition.  For more information about filing for one of these offices, please visit the Office of the Secretary of State’s website to download a copy of “Declaring Your Candidacy.”  This publication focuses primarily on candidate filing procedures, sample candidate filing forms for attaining ballot access, qualifications for each elective office, and other important and pertinent election information that will directly or indirectly affect candidacy.

“Our office stands ready to help any potential candidate with questions he or she may have, and we hope to see spirited interest in these new positions,” remarked Secretary Grayson.

# # #