Secretary of State
Grayson Selected as Treasurer of the National Association of Secretaries of State

Press Release Date:  Wednesday, August 01, 2007  
Contact Information:  Les Fugate, Deputy Assistant Secretary of State
Office of the Secretary of State
Office: (502) 564-3490
Cell: (502) 229-3803

(Frankfort, KY)  Secretary of State Trey Grayson has once again been selected for a leadership position within the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS), assuming a position on the association’s executive committee.  Grayson will serve one term as treasurer, with the term set to expire in July of 2007.

            “The continued confidence that my colleagues place in me is incredibly gratifying,” remarked Grayson.  “I look forward to serving in this capacity and to future leadership opportunities within NASS.”

Secretary Grayson’s colleagues have asked him to serve in a variety of other prominent national leadership positions, most notably as chairman of the Republican Association of Secretaries of State.  A former chair of the NASS Elections committee and vice-chair of the NASS committee on voter participation, Grayson also serves on the NASS standing committee on business services.  Grayson currently represents NASS on the Council of State Government Executive Committee. 

Secretary Grayson will be working with a new slate of NASS executive officers who will oversee the association’s activities for the coming year, including its direction on election administration, business services, electronic government and state federal relations with the White House, Members of Congress, and the various federal agencies.  In particular, NASS has elected to make the NASS Rotating Regional Presidential Primary/Caucus Plan a top priority for the 2007-2008 cycle.  Grayson has served as a national spokesperson for this reform effort through his role as co-chair of NASS’s Presidential Primary Committee. 


The members of the NASS Executive Board include the following:


Hon. Todd Rokita, Indiana (President)

Hon. Deb Markowitz, Vermont (Past President)

Hon. Pedro Cortes, Pennsylvania (President-Elect)

Hon. Trey Grayson, Kentucky (Treasurer)

Hon. Betty Ireland, West Virginia (Secretary)

Hon. A. Ralph Mollis, Rhode Island (Eastern Region Vice President)

Hon. Charlie Daniels, Arkansas (Southern Region Vice President)

Hon. Terri Lynn Land, Michigan (Midwestern Region Vice President)

Hon. Ben Ysursa, Idaho (Western Regional Vice President)

Hon. Brad Johnson, Montana (Member-at-Large)

Hon. Bill Gardner, New Hampshire (Member-at-Large)


For more information, please visit


# # #

Founded in 1904, the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) is the oldest professional, non-partisan organization of public officials in the United States. Members include the 50 states, the District of Columbia and the territories of American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands