Secretary of State
State Board of Elections Certify Primary Elections Results

Press Release Date:  Monday, June 11, 2007  
Contact Information:  Les Fugate, Deputy Assistant Secretary of State
Office of the Secretary of State
Office: (502) 564-3490
Cell: (502) 229-3803

(Frankfort, KY)  The Kentucky State Board of Elections met today and certified the 2007 primary election results.  The certification makes the recanvassed results from counties official and sets the stage for the general election races in the fall. 


“Congratulations go out to not only the winning candidates but also to election officials across the Commonwealth,” stated Chairman of the State Board of Elections, Secretary of State Trey Grayson.  “This election was well executed and few problems were reported across the state.  That is a testament to the hard work and dedication election officials exhibited during the 2007 primary election process.”


The certified results determine the nominees of the two recognized political parties for partisan contests that were regularly scheduled for the fall.  The results also determine the two judicial candidates who will appear on the ballot for non-partisan special elections that included more than two candidates and thus appeared on the primary election ballots.


This certification also primarily sets the races for the statewide constitutional officer elections in November.  Independent candidates needed to file a statement-of-candidacy form with the Office of the Secretary of State by early April.  Only one slate of candidates filed that statement, and thus has the opportunity to file to run for office.  The slate of Micah  Ingram and Paige Allen for Governor and Lt. Governor, respectively, have until August 14, 2007 at 4:00 p.m. to file their filing papers in order to appear on the ballot. 


Candidates can still file as a write-in candidate up to ten days prior to the election.  According to Kentucky law, write-in candidates must file with the appropriate filing officer in order for votes cast for them to be counted.


Complete election results can be found online at


# # #