Personnel Cabinet
24th Annual Governor’s EEO Conference honors those with courage

Press Release Date:  Wednesday, November 10, 2010  
Contact Information:  Crystal Pryor

Kentucky Personnel Cabinet
Office of the Secretary


Crystal Pryor

24th Annual Governor’s EEO Conference honors those with courage
FRANKFORT, Ky. (Nov. 9, 2010) – Today, First Lady Jane Beshear, Personnel Secretary Nikki Jackson and professionals from various sectors attended the Governor’s 24th Annual Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) Conference.  The conference’s theme highlighted those who have the “Courage to Move the Commonwealth Forward.” 

“It is critical for us, in spite of challenges, to uphold progress and work to level the playing field for all Kentuckians,” said Mrs. Beshear. “The governor and his administration are committed to increasing opportunity and equality throughout the state.”

Mrs. Beshear and Secretary Jackson presented the annual Charles W. Anderson Laureate Award, which is given to individuals who have made contributions to their communities that benefit at least one of the EEO protected classes.  This year’s Charles W. Anderson Laureate Award was presented posthumously to Sanford T. Roach.

Roach served as the head basketball coach at Lexington’s Paul Laurence Dunbar High School for 22 years.  Roach coached many successful basketball teams, with a record of 512 wins and 142 losses.  He led teams to two Kentucky High School Athletic League State Championships and two runner-up titles in the Kentucky High School Athletic Association.  Following his retirement from coaching, Roach became the first African American principal at an elementary school, George Washington Carver, and secondary school, Lexington Junior High School.  He was also the first African American appointed to the University of Kentucky Athletic Association Board.

“Roach’s life work exemplifies the theme of this year’s EEO Conference, as evidence by his commitment to move the Commonwealth forward,” Jackson said.  “As a leader in his community, Roach was able to improve and expand opportunities for African Americans.” 
The Charles W. Anderson Laureate Award honors the first African American legislator in Kentucky who was re-elected to the Kentucky General Assembly on five consecutive occasions.  The award is given in recognition of unparallel contributions in the quest for equal opportunity and in acknowledgement of extraordinary commitment to freedom and justice.

The opening session featured multidisciplinary artist and author Frank X Walker, a Danville native and founding member of the Affrilachian Poets.  His honors include: the 35th Annual Lillian Smith Book Award, a Kentucky Public Librarians' Choice Award nominee and a Kentucky Arts Council Al Smith Fellowship recipient.  Workshop topics included generational diversity, conducting investigations, the Americans with Disabilities Act, leadership development, and EEO updates.  The conference concluded with a general session panel discussion on EEO best practices.

For more information on the Governor’s EEO Conference or other programs and services by the Personnel Cabinet’s Office of Diversity and Equality, go to