Department of Parks
Constitution Square Historical Site To Be Turned Over to Boyle County

Press Release Date:  Wednesday, December 21, 2011  
Contact Information:  Gil Lawson,
502-564-4270, ext 168

DANVILLE, Ky. – The Kentucky State Parks have agreed to turn over Constitution Square State Historic Site to Boyle County government, Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet Secretary Marcheta Sparrow announced today.


The transfer is expected to be completed in January. It will require that Boyle County maintain the buildings and property that make up the historic site. Constitution Square commemorates the signing of the state’s constitution in 1792 in Danville. It includes log cabin meeting houses, the courthouse, jail, Grayson's Tavern Welcome Center and one of the first post offices in what was once the American frontier. All are reconstructions except for the post office, which is the original log structure.


Development of the historic site, which is in the central downtown area of Danville, began in 1937 and was completed in 1955.


Boyle County agreed to maintain and operate this site and keep it open to the public,” Sparrow said. “This will benefit Boyle County, while at the same time preserving an important part of Kentucky history.”


The county plans to allow local organizations to use the structures for office and conference space.


 Boyle County is delighted to be partners with the Kentucky State Parks to preserve this important historic site,” Boyle County Judge-Executive Harold McKinney said. “We look forward to Constitution Square having a role in our economic development and tourism efforts.”


All employees at Constitution Square have been moved to other parks.





The Kentucky State Park System is composed of 51 state parks plus an interstate park shared with Virginia. The Department of Parks, an agency of the Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet, operates 17 resort parks with lodges -- more than any other state. For more information on Kentucky parks, visit our website at