Lt. Gov. Dan Mongiardo's Communications Office
Lt. Governor Mongiardo Recognizes Shelbyville Manufacturer for Safety and Health Program

Press Release Date:  Thursday, December 02, 2010  
Contact Information:  Valeria Cummings

SHELBYVILLE, Ky. — Lt. Governor Daniel Mongiardo and Acting Labor Secretary Mark Brown today presented Roll Forming Corporation of Shelbyville, Kentucky with the 2010 Governor’s Safety and Health Award.

The Governor’s Safety and Health Award honors employers and employees who meet a required number of hours without workplace injuries serious enough to cause an employee to miss a day of work.  Roll Forming Corporation is being recognized for achieving more than 658,090 hours worked without a lost-time injury.

The award was presented to Roll Forming CEO Ray Leathers, along with members of his management and staff, during a special ceremony held at Claudia Sanders Dinner House in Shelbyville, Ky.

“It took both the company and employees working together to achieve such a goal,” said Lt. Gov. Mongiardo. “This award distinguishes you above the rest and shows how a company can be safe, productive and a job creator in tough economic times.”

“The Labor Cabinet recognizes employers who operate exemplary safety and health management systems and are committed to making safety for employees a priority,” said Acting Sec. Brown during today’s award ceremony. “I am delighted to recognize Roll Forming’s significant achievements in safety.”

Roll Forming Corp. is one of the largest diversified roll forming operations in the U.S., serving the market leaders in a wide variety of industries such as office furniture, aerospace and agricultural equipment. The facility is the oldest manufacturer in Shelby County, existing since 1947.

“Safety is the number one priority at Roll Forming Corporation,” said Leathers. “At RFC we say we would rather not come to work than to come to work and get hurt.  We embrace this commitment out of respect for our families and loved ones we come to work to support every day.”

For more information on the Governor’s safety award go to