KYTC Graduated Driver License course now offered online
Gives students option of taking course anytime, anywhere
FRANKFORT, Ky. (June 12, 2014) – The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC) today announced an online version of the Graduated Driver License course for teaching safe driving techniques to beginning drivers.
The online program represents a fourth option for completing the course, which is required before a learner’s permit can be replaced with an unrestricted driver’s license.
Until now, three options were available:
· A four-hour Graduated Driver License course provided by KYTC in the driver’s home county. The course is offered for free, and at least two courses are held per year in each of the state’s 120 counties.
· High school driver’s education course or a similar course offered by a Kentucky community college, vocational School or Job Corps.
· Private driver training course at a driver training school approved by the KYTC Division of Driver Licensing.
The new, fourth option is an online course administered by I Drive Safely, a driver education website.
“Our hope is to make options available for every situation,” said Rodney Kuhl, KYTC commissioner of the Department of Vehicle Regulation. “We understand people have busy schedules, and this new online option just adds another convenient way for those struggling to find time for our classroom course.”
The online course, which costs $15, takes about four hours to complete. The course can be taken when convenient for the driver and at the driver’s own pace, as long as the course is completed within 270 days of the initiated login. The money charged for the course is collected by the website administering the course, not the state.
Nearly 35,000 students take the Graduated Driver License course each year. Students taking the online course may have to wait 24 to 48 hours before completion of the course shows up on their driving records. But after the course is complete, a confirmation email will be sent to the student. The course is available online at http://teen.idrivesafely.com/Kentucky/.
Once drivers have completed the course, along with other requirements under Kentucky’s Graduated Driver License Law, they are eligible for an unrestricted driver’s license. Guidelines for the state’s Graduated Driver License Law can be found online at transportation.ky.gov/Driver-Licensing/Pages/Graduated-Driver-Licensing-Program.aspx.
Commissioner Kuhl said the public’s interest in online driver training became apparent after launch of an online version of State Traffic School for drivers cited for traffic violations.
“The online Graduated Driver License Course is a logical extension of our services and another way to increase convenience for those looking for classes,” Commissioner Kuhl said.