Department of Highways, District 11
Transportation employees earn ‘Roads Scholar’ and ‘Road Master’ designations 28 District 11 employees graduate from training

Press Release Date:  Friday, January 04, 2008  
Contact Information:  Sandy Rudder
District 11-Manchester

MANCHESTER, KY¬¬¬-- Twenty-eight employees of the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet’s District 11 office have completed specialized training designed for transportation workers. A graduation ceremony honoring the new “Roads Scholars” and “Road Masters” was held recently at Cumberland Falls State Park. 

“We applaud these dedicated employees,” said Transportation Cabinet Secretary Joe Prather. “They have demonstrated their commitment to excellence by completing very formidable training programs. They are also devoted to the cabinet’s mission of maintaining safe and reliable roadways throughout the commonwealth.”

Roads Scholar and Road Master training is offered annually by the Technology Transfer Program at the University of Kentucky’s Transportation Center. To obtain the Roads Scholar designation, an individual must successfully complete a training course presented by the center in cooperation with the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet. 

The Road Master designation is earned by successfully completing an additional training program that provides a higher level of technical information and is targeted toward individuals who want to become managers. Training covers topics such as traffic management, communications, drainage and basics of hot-mix asphalt, among others. The combined programs total 96 training hours and serve individuals from local and state transportation agencies as well as private businesses.

More than 150 Roads Scholars and nearly 80 Road Masters completed the 2007 training series. Since it began in 1988, the program has produced more than 1,400 Roads Scholars. There are currently 893 local and state government employees who have earned the Road Masters designation. 

In the eight-county District 11 area, the following Department of Highways employees, listed by county, were honored for successfully completing the program:

• BELL:  Chris Collett, Shawn Hensley, David Sproles and Vance Heck
• CLAY:  Edward Brock, Tim Burns, Jerry Sams, Tim Sizemore, Timothy Gibbs, Charles Walker and Tammy Weaver
• HARLAN: Donald Arvin, James J. Ball, Mike Middleton, Michael Grubbs and Kevin Hayes
• JACKSON: David P. Spurlock
• KNOX: William Cornelius, Silas Mills and Johnny Bright
• LAUREL: Carl Smith and Andrew Truty
• LESLIE: Randy Collett, Kathy Mattingly and Elizabeth Sizemore
• WHITLEY: Kenny Angel, Jody Bundy and Keith Rains

“We are extremely proud of our employees who dedicate themselves daily to improving the district’s roadways,” said Michael Calebs, chief district engineer for District 11.  “We commend those who strive to improve themselves by taking advantage of these training programs.”

Information on the Technology Transfer Program at the Kentucky Transportation Center can be found at or by calling (800) 432-0719.  More news from the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet is available online at




Recipients, front row L to R: Shawn Hensley, Vance Heck, Johnny Bright, David Sproles and Elizabeth Sizemore.

Second Row, L to R: Barbara Morgan-Training Coordinator, Michael Grubbs, Michael Middleton,  Chris Collett, Edward Brock, Jody Bundy and Marcie Mathews, State Highway Engineer. 

3rd row, L to R: Randy Collett, Kenny Angel, Keith Rains, S.T. Mills, Bill Cornelius and Steve Farmer, Acting Exec. Director for Systems Preservation and Operations. 

4th row, L to R: Jerry Sams, Kevin Hayes, Kathy Mattingly, Jimmy Joe Ball, Carl Smith, Don Arvin and Tim Burns.

Absent from the photo: Timothy Gibbs, David Spurlock, Andrew Truty, Charles Walker and Tammy Weaver