Skip to the content of the page.
State Agency List Calendar Newsroom Site MapHelp CenterAdvanced Search
State Seal Kentucky Transportation Cabinet, Department of Highways, District 10
District 10 Personnel Meet With Local Officials
Press Release Date:  January 18, 2005
Contact:  H.B. Elkins, Information Officer, 606-666-8841,

JACKSON, KY – (Jan. 18, 2005) -- The Department of Highways District 10 hosted a meeting Friday, Jan. 14, with local officials in the district’s 10 counties, state Transportation Cabinet representatives and key managers and employees of the district.

Officials were briefed on highway construction projects underway or in the planning stages in their counties, and had the opportunity to discuss their maintenance and construction needs with Department of Highways staff members. Publications detailing construction work completed in 2004 or scheduled for 2005, and long-term projects in the Six-Year Road Plan, were provided to the visitors.

District 10 administrators, managers and county superintendents also took part in the lunchtime session.

Linda Wagner-Justice, acting chief district engineer, coordinated the event and addressed the group briefly to update them on administrative changes being made in the Transportation Cabinet.

"We were proud to host this meeting to give the officials in our counties the chance to talk with and make their concerns known to District 10 personnel," Wagner-Justice said. "We appreciate all those who attended and have pledged to assist them any way we can to make sure the state highways in their counties are well-maintained, and that we embark on new construction projects to improve the transportation system within the district. Governor Fletcher’s office is dedicated to keeping the lines of communication open to our local officials, and this gathering was one way to do that."

State Highway Engineer Sam Beverage, who formerly served as chief district engineer for Districts 10 and 11, attended the meeting, along with Tim Hazlette, deputy director of the Transportation Cabinet’s Office of Personnel Management.

Grayson Smith, Eastern Kentucky LINK representative for the Governor’s Office of Local Development, was also in attendance.

Local officials attending were:

Breathitt County: County Judge-Executive Lew Warrix and Jackson Independent Schools Interim Superintendent Tim Spencer.

Estill County: Irvine Mayor Tom Williams, Irvine Mayor Pro Tem Ernest Farmer, Ravenna Mayor Charles Crowe and County Judge-Executive Wallace Taylor.

Lee County: County Judge-Executive L.C. Reese, County Road Foreman Lowell Fultz and County Treasurer Pearl Spencer.

Magoffin County: Salyersville Mayor Stanley Howard and County Judge-Executive Bill May.

Menifee County: County Judge-Executive James Trimble.

Owsley County: County Judge-Executive Cale Turner.

Perry County: County Judge-Executive Denny Noble.

Powell County: County Judge-Executive Bobby Drake.

Wolfe County: County Judge-Executive Raymond Hurst, School Superintendent Stephen Butcher and Assistant Superintendent Gordon Hatton.


(Note to editors: Digital photographs are available from this event. If you would like one or more photographs to accompany this release, please contact H.B. Elkins at (606) 666-8841 or


Last updated: Friday, January 21, 2005