Department of Highways, District 10
KYTC District 10 Design Team Wins Statewide Award for Excellence for Perry County Bridge

Press Release Date:  Monday, September 25, 2006  
Contact Information:  H.B. ELKINS
(606) 666-8841

JACKSON, KY. – (Sept. 25, 2006) -- An entry submitted by the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Department of Highways District 10's design team was chosen as the winner of an award for excellence in statewide competition.

The award, for projects costing less than $1 million to build, was presented at the recent 2006 Partnering Conference in Louisville.

The award was presented for the KY 476 bridge spanning Lotts Creek in Perry County that was completed in 2004.

"A number of unique factors presented themselves during this project," said Linda Wagner-Justice, District 10 chief district engineer. "The proximity of a railroad bridge and the subsequent use of the old bridge's abutment since it was tied to the railroad bridge abutment was just one of the design challenges. Dealing with contaminated soil from a former gas station was another. Preserving a nearby residence and dealing with issues arising from the relocation of their septic system was yet another. In the end, all these obstacles were overcome and we were able to design a project that replaced a narrow, substandard bridge with a safe, modern structure."

The district dedicated the award to Pete Craft, in honor of one of the original members of the design team who lost his battle with cancer before the bridge was completed. "In the district office, we have unofficially called this bridge the 'Pete Craft Bridge' in his honor," Wagner-Justice said.

This project began in 1994 and involved no fewer than five in-house designers. Current members of District 10's design team are Corbett Caudill, Aric Skaggs, Barry Evans and Brent Weddington. The district's environmental coordinator is Jeff Allen and the preconstruction branch manager is Chuck Allen.

The award is named for William S. Gulick, a former Kentucky Transportation Cabinet engineer, and is presented annually.


From left, Aric Skaggs, Hazard; Brent Weddington, West Liberty; Barry Evans, West Liberty; Jamie Duff, Jackson; and Corbett Caudill, Hazard. Missing from the photo are Jeff Allen, District 10 environmental coordinator and Chuck Allen, preconstruction branch manager.