Department of Highways, District 10
Governor Fletcher and Transportation Cabinet Award $3,999,137.29 in Highway Contracts in Lee County

Press Release Date:  Monday, July 11, 2005  
Contact Information:  H.B. ELKINS
(606) 666-8841

JACKSON, KY – (July 11, 2005) – The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet is working to upgrade the highway network in Lee County.  Two contracts for road construction, totaling $3,999,137.29, have been approved by the cabinet.

"These projects reflect my administration’s commitment to ensuring that drivers in Lee County are able to get to their workplaces, schools or other destinations with confidence that our state’s roads are in the best condition possible," said Governor Ernie Fletcher.

These two contracts call for correcting a persistent rockfall problem and resurfacing of more than six miles of state highways in Lee County.

The first contract provides for rockfall mitigation on KY 52, Beattyville-Jackson Road, at Sharp Rock east of Beattyville. Hinkle Contracting Corp. of Paris was awarded the low-bid contract for $3,699,648.89. The work will be completed within 172 working days of its beginning.

The second project includes resurfacing of 6.44 miles on five state routes under one contract, including:

  • KY 587, Congleton-Ida May-Delvinta-Arvel Road, from milepoint 2.0 to milepoint 3.3, a distance of 1.3 miles;
  • KY 1411, Beattyville-Lower Buffalo Creek Road, from Pawpaw Creek Road to milepoint 3.962, a distance of 2.0 miles;
  • KY 2016, Big Andy Ridge Road, from milepoint 8.0 to the Wolfe County line, a distance of 0.52 miles;
  • KY 2017, Monica-Primrose-Vada-Fillmore Road, from KY 52 to Primrose Road, a distance of 1.41 miles; and
  • KY 3150, Proctor Road, from KY 11 at the top of the hill looping around to KY 11 near the South Fork of Kentucky River bridge, a distance of 1.21 miles.

Hinkle Contracting Corp. received the low-bid contract for $299,488.40. The work will be completed by Nov. 30.

The Lee County projects are contained in one of the largest lettings ever in the Transportation Cabinet, and are part of more than $8.1 million in highway projects for District 10 awarded as part of the June bidding. The district includes Breathitt, Estill, Lee, Magoffin, Menifee, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Powell and Wolfe counties. Statewide, more than $167 million worth of projects have been authorized.

"These new projects will help to repair and upgrade our aging highway infrastructure and provide safer roads that will further economic development and enhance safe travel for Kentuckians," said acting Secretary Bill Nighbert.

Construction activities are scheduled on a tentative basis and are subject to change depending on weather conditions.