Department of Highways, District 10
District 10 honors ASE Certified Technicians during National Automotive Service Professionals Week

Press Release Date:  Tuesday, June 20, 2006  
Contact Information:  H.B. ELKINS
(606) 666-8841

JACKSON, KY. – (June 20, 2006) -- In recognition of National Automotive Service Professionals Week (June 12-18), Kentucky Transportation Cabinet officials paid tribute Friday to 10 District 10 employees who are among the 87 automotive repair technicians within the Cabinet who are ASE Certified Technicians. ASE is the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence, a non-profit organization established in 1972 by the automotive industry, to improve the quality of vehicle repair and service through the voluntary testing and certification of automotive repair technicians.

These employees work throughout the District 10 area which includes Breathitt, Estill, Lee, Magoffin, Menifee, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Powell and Wolfe counties. The ASE Certified Technicians enjoyed a cookout Friday afternoon at the District 10 equipment garage in Beattyville. Those honored are:

  • David Abner, Booneville
  • Gary Angel, Beattyville
  • Quenten Bailey, Jackson
  • Donnie Bartley, Frenchburg
  • Curtis Campbell, Hazard
  • Robert Fox Jr., Beattyville
  • Darren Montgomery, West Liberty
  • Jamin Noble, Jackson
  • Dale Stamper, Jackson
  • Gary Taulbee, Jackson

"We want to thank all of these professionals for their service and for their exceptional commitment to their chosen careers," said Transportation Cabinet Secretary Bill Nighbert. "ASE certification is a badge that each of these technicians can wear with pride, because it demonstrates to everyone that they are among the elite in their profession. It also shows their commitment to the kind of quality that we consistently strive for in the Transportation Cabinet."

"Our mechanics and technicians are the lifeblood of our highway district," said Linda Wagner-Justice, chief district engineer. "They keep our vehicles and equipment running in tip-top shape and we certainly could not maintain a high level of service to motorists and taxpayers in our highway district without them. We appreciate their efforts and we applaud their commitment to their profession."

The motor vehicle repair industry has taken on a new sophistication, which requires advanced technical training and computer literacy. Today’s automotive technicians must have:

  • Thorough knowledge of automotive systems and components
  • Good computer skills
  • Excellent communication skills
  • Above average mechanical aptitude
  • Good reasoning ability, ability to read and follow instructions
  • Manual dexterity

"Our ASE Certified Technicians have been tested for one or more of ASE’s 40-plus exams," said Chris Mobley, director of the Transportation Cabinet’s Equipment Division. Tests are grouped into specialties for automobile, medium/heavy truck, truck equipment and collision repair technicians as well as engine machinists, alternate fuels technicians and parts specialists. The required areas for certification are Diesel Engines, Suspension & Steering, Brakes, and Electrical/Electronic Systems. Certification in Drive Train & Heating, Ventilation & Air Conditioning, in addition to those five categories, is required to become Master Certified.

Certification, however, is not for life. In order to remain certified, those with ASE credentials must be tested every five years. "Through the efforts of Secretary Nighbert, the administration of Governor Ernie Fletcher has approved the Cabinet’s payment of ASE certification fees for these deserving employees," Mobley added.

Transportation Cabinet technicians who have earned ASE certification were honored throughout the state last week, in Frankfort as well as the 12 district highway offices.



ASE Certified Technicians from the Department of Highways District 10 who were honored during National Automotive Service Professionals Week were, from left, Quenten Bailey, Jackson; Donnie Bartley, Frenchburg; Gary Angel, Beattyville; Gary Taulbee, Jackson; Robert Fox Jr., Beattyville; Jamin Noble, Jackson; David Abner, Booneville; Darren Montgomery, West Liberty; Dale Stamper, Jackson; and Curtis Campbell, Hazard.