Department of Highways, District 10
Transportation Cabinet awards highway improvement contract

Press Release Date:  Tuesday, March 22, 2011  
Contact Information:  H. B. Elkins
Public Information Officer
Department of Highways, District 10
473 Highway 15 South, P.O. Box 621
Jackson, KY 41339

JACKSON, Ky. — The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet has awarded an additional highway improvement contract as part of its February 2011 letting.


The $64,830 contract is for the installation of thermoplastic pavement markings along the KY 15 corridor in Breathitt, Perry, Powell and Wolfe counties in District 10. These include crosswalks, turn lane arrows, stop bars and other pavement markings designed to improve traffic flow and safety along the busy KY 15 corridor. A&A Safety, Inc. was the successful bidder, and the work is to be completed by Nov. 30.


The Department of Highways District 10 consists of 10 counties – Breathitt, Estill, Lee, Magoffin, Menifee, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Powell and Wolfe – in east-central and southeastern Kentucky. The district office is located in Jackson.


Construction activities are scheduled on a tentative basis and are subject to change depending on weather conditions. Motorists are asked to “Drive Smart” in work zones and be aware of workers, traffic control devices and construction equipment when traveling in areas where projects are ongoing.


Significant traffic impacts resulting from construction and maintenance projects are posted on District 10’s Facebook page ( and also on the district’s Twitter feed ( Drivers can check these sites prior to traveling to determine if there will be traffic delays for which they should plan.