Department of Highways, District 10
Transportation Cabinet sets snow and ice removal priorities for 2007-08 winter season in Lee County

Press Release Date:  Wednesday, November 28, 2007  
Contact Information:  H. B. Elkins
Public Information Officer
Department of Highways, District 10
473 Highway 15 South, P.O. Box 621
Jackson, KY 41339

JACKSON, Ky. – (Nov. 28, 2007) -- The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet's Department of Highways has established priority routes for snow and ice removal for the upcoming winter season in Lee County.


The Department of Highways is responsible for keeping approximately 122 miles of state-maintained roadway in Lee County passable in inclement weather. It sets snow removal priorities according to the amount and nature of traffic on the routes within each individual county. Priority A routes include major through routes and are those most heavily traveled. Priority B routes include other important, but lesser traveled, routes in the county. Other roads fall into Priority C.


In Lee County, Priority A highways are KY 11, KY 52 and a portion of KY 587.  Priority B routes include KY 498, KY 1144, KY 2016, KY 2017 and a large portion of KY 399 and KY 708. Other routes are Priority C.


"The Transportation Cabinet recognizes how important roadway conditions are to Kentucky motorists," said Tim Adams, acting chief district engineer. We are dedicated to keeping these roadways clear and safe for travel. Our snow removal crews will work long, hard hours during the winter to keep our highways passable."


"We just ask for motorists' patience during snow removal operations," Adams added. "Drivers should slow down, keep an eye out for snowplows, and remember to buckle up to ensure their safety."


For the latest road conditions in bad weather, motorists may dial 511 to hear traffic and travel information. Signs have been erected throughout the 10 counties of District 10 to promote the 511 service.