Arts Council
Teaching artists added to Kentucky Arts Council directory

Press Release Date:  Tuesday, August 05, 2014  
Contact Information:  Emily B. Moses
Communications Director
502-564-3757, ext. 472

FRANKFORT, Ky. — Eight professional artists have been added to the Kentucky Arts Council's Teaching Artists Directory to work with educators to design and implement quality arts education programs in Kentucky schools.

The Teaching Artists Directory is an adjudicated resource featuring artists from various disciplines. The directory connects schools and educators with artists who produce high quality work and who can assist in the creation of arts programming in schools around the Commonwealth.

"The Teaching Artists Directory is a great resource that partners Kentucky schools and communities with skilled Kentucky artists," said Lori Meadows, executive director of the arts council. "These artists and educators collaborate to design arts programming that's creative, innovative and educational for all students."

Artists added to the directory, with county of residence, are:

  • Marcus Wilkerson, Fayette
  • Megan Sauter, Franklin
  • Erin Fitzgerald, Jefferson
  • Karen Dieruf, Jefferson
  • Dane Hosler, Madison
  • Smitha Paily, Oldham
  • Robert Martin, Rockcastle
  • Sue Massek, Washington

Any Kentucky school applying for funds through the arts council's Teaching Art Together Grant is required to work with an artist listed in the directory. For more information about the Teaching Artists Directory, visit

The Kentucky Arts Council, the state arts agency, fosters environments for Kentuckians to value, participate in and benefit from the arts. Kentucky Arts Council funding is provided by the Kentucky General Assembly and the National Endowment for the Arts.

- ### -

Follow us! View us! Join the conversation!