Arts Council
Kentucky Arts Council announces Emerging Artist Award recipients

Press Release Date:  Friday, July 18, 2014  
Contact Information:  Alex Newby
Communications Assistant
502-564-3757, ext. 231

FRANKFORT, Ky. — The Kentucky Arts Council has announced the five literary artists who will receive $1,000 Emerging Artist Awards to assist them in further developing their professional arts careers.

The Emerging Artist Award recognizes practicing, professional artists who are in the early stages of their arts career, defined as the first 10 years, who have demonstrated a high level of excellence and creativity in the creation of original work.

"The Emerging Artist Awards help recognize and encourage artists who are actively pursuing a lifelong career in the arts," said Lori Meadows, arts council executive director. "We are glad we can offer support to these artists as they continue to develop their craft."

The artists receiving awards are:

  • Jonathan Rovner, fiction, Fayette County
  • Clara Harris, playwriting, Jefferson County
  • Elizabeth Glass, nonfiction, Jefferson County
  • Joy Priest, poetry, Jefferson County
  • Sarah McCartt-Jackson, poetry, Jefferson County

Emerging Artist applications are accepted for the literary artist category every two years. Applications for emerging artists in the fields of musical composition and visual arts will be accepted for fiscal year 2016. The deadline to apply is Feb. 15, 2015.

To view guidelines or to apply online, visit, or contact Tamara Coffey, individual artist director, at or 502-564-8110, ext. 479.

The Kentucky Arts Council, the state arts agency, creates opportunities for Kentuckians to value, participate in and benefit from the arts. Kentucky Arts Council funding is provided by the Kentucky General Assembly and the National Endowment for the Arts.

- ### -

Follow us! View us! Join the conversation!