Kentucky Vehicle Enforcement

Press Release Date:  Tuesday, June 12, 2007  
Contact Information:  Bobby Clue
Information Officer

Lt. Brandon Eggen - 2006 KVE Officer of the Year(Frankfort, KY) – Kentucky Vehicle Enforcement (KVE) and The Justice and Public Safety Cabinet, congratulated Lieutenant Brandon Eggen, of Franklin County, as he received the 2006 Jason Cammack Officer of the Year Award during a special ceremony today at the Thomas Clark Center for Kentucky History in Frankfort. Forty-five additional officers, inspectors and civilians were also recognized for acts of meritorious service and achievement, bravery, life-saving acts, professionalism and dedication to duty.

A 9-year veteran of Kentucky Vehicle Enforcement, Lt. Eggen is assigned to KVE Post 4 in Shelbyville, which covers Bullet, Spencer, Anderson, Jefferson, Oldham, Shelby, Franklin and Henry counties. Some of his accomplishments over the past year include:

·        Selection as a pilot candidate for KVE’s new aviation section.

·        Selection as a representative from KVE for the Kentucky State Police KY OPS Computer System program.

·        Instrumental in the state’s first project of running radar from a commercial vehicle to curb aggressive driving.

·        First KVE officer to attend the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) National Academy.

The Jason Cammack – Officer of the Year Award was named in honor of the first KVE officer killed in the line of duty. Cammack died April 23, 2000 in a car accident while he attempted to stop a speeding vehicle. The award is given to a sworn KVE officer who is a true professional and who excels above and beyond performing his duties.

“There is no greater honor, no tougher challenge than being a police officer,” says KVE Commissioner Greg Howard. “We have raised the bar of expectations high. Only through higher standards and holding each other accountable can we reach our goals.”

Other award winners include:

Inspector of the Year
Inspector Brent Johnson – Harlan County

Civilian Employee of the Year
Janet Byrum – Simpson County

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration Award
Inspector – Inspector Brent Johnson - Harlan County
Officer – Officer Anthony Bersaglia - Knott County

Officer Keith Justice – Pike County

Lieutenant Kevin Rogers – Caldwell County
Officer Dennis Hutchinson - Floyd County
Officer Robert Curtis - Daviess County

Drug Award
K-9 Officer Steve Burke – Warren County
K-9 Officer Randy Honeycutt – Clinton County
Officer Joey Conn – Adair County

DUI Award
Officer Landry Collett – Leslie County

Meritorious Achievement
Sergeant Tony Wilson – Gallatin County
Officer Joey Conn – Adair County

Meritorious Service
Officer Thomas Gearheart – Floyd County
Officer Kevin Belcher – Pike County
Officer Keith Justice – Pike County

Life Saver Award
Officer Michael Ross - Robertson County

Major Jeff Heady
Captain Larry Davis
Captain Mary Smalley
Lieutenant Phillip Frazier Jr.
Lieutenant Brandon Eggen
Lieutenant Dan Pearman
Sergeant Jonathan Blevins
Sergeant Brian King
Sergeant John White
Sergeant Dewayne Decker
Inspector II Thomas Case
Inspector II Lonnie Holbrook
Inspector II Arthur Johnson
Inspector II Donald Meeks
Inspector II Richard Smith
Inspector II Steve Thompson
Inspector II Douglas Toy
Inspector II William Williams
Inspector II Marty Young