Kentucky Vehicle Enforcement

Press Release Date:  Monday, June 12, 2006  
Contact Information:  Bobby Clue
Information Officer

Officer Nathan Day - 06 KVE Officer of the Year(Frankfort, KY) – Kentucky Vehicle Enforcement (KVE) and The Justice and Public Safety Cabinet, congratulated Officer Nathan Day, of Perry County, as he received the 2005 Jason Cammack Officer of the Year Award during a special ceremony today at the Thomas Clark Center for Kentucky History in Frankfort. Fifty-six additional officers, inspectors and civilians were also recognized for acts of meritorious service and achievement, bravery, life-saving acts, professionalism and dedication to duty.

In 2005, Officer Day conducted 680 total inspections and cited almost 800 violations toward commercial vehicles, helping remove dangerous and disqualified commercial vehicles from our highways.

Over the past year, Officer Day has been involved in a joint task force called the “Green and  Gray Cutting Team”, which partners with both the Kentucky National Guard and Kentucky State Police to locate and destroy marijuana across the Commonwealth.

The Jason Cammack – Officer of the Year Award was named in honor of the first KVE officer killed in the line of duty. Cammack died April 23, 2000 in a car accident while he attempted to stop a speeding vehicle. The award is given to a sworn KVE officer who is a true professional and who excels above and beyond performing his duties.

“There is no greater honor, no tougher challenge than being a police officer,” says KVE Commissioner Greg Howard. “We have raised the bar of expectations high. Only through higher standards and holding each other accountable can we reach our goals.”

Other award winners include:

Inspector of the Year
Inspector Brent Johnson – Harlan County

Civilian Employee of the Year
Debbie Fisher – Franklin County

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration Award
Inspector – William Moore – Rowan County
Officer – Daniel Lewis  – Rowan County

Captain Marcus Schnepp – Daviess County
Officer John Halterman – Henderson County

Drug Award
Special Operations
Officer Joey Conn – Adair County

Field Operations
Officer Kevin Belcher – Pike County
Officer Keith Justice – Pike County
Officer Jamie Rose – Pike County
Officer Jamie Fields – Pike County

DUI Award
Officer Travis Rogers – Pulaski County

Meritorious Achievement
Officer Shannon Chelf – Larue County

Meritorious Service
Sergeant Billy Dehart – Rowan County
Officer Charles Smith – Barren County

Life Saver Award
Sergeant Kenneth Hightower – Harlan County

Major Glynn Powers – Jefferson County
Lieutenant Bruce Patterson – Warren County
Sergeant Jamie Collins – Pike County
Sergeant Kenneth Hightower – Harlan County
Sergeant Malcolm Jessup – Muhlenberg County
Sergeant Anthony Wilson – Gallatin County