Department of Fish and Wildlife
Flat-Bottomed Boat Building Makes A Splash On "Kentucky Afield" TV

Press Release Date:  Monday, July 26, 2010  
Contact Information:  Scott Moore 1-800-858-1549, ext. 4502  


Jul 26, 2010


HQ

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Do-it-yourself now includes fishing boats. We piece together details on “Kentucky Afield” television this weekend, July 31 and Aug. 1.

For sculling creeks and ponds, nothing tops a flat-bottomed boat. Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources craftsman John Akers shows host Tim Farmer how the vessels are built with little effort and money.

The construction of the KY AFIELD 09 was quite popular when first aired last fall. Now, the three-part series is combined into one full episode. DVR users take note - this is one for the archives.

“Kentucky Afield” is a production of the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources. It is the longest continuously running outdoor television show in the nation. The program airs at 8:30 p.m. Eastern /7:30 p.m. Central Saturdays, and repeats at 4 p.m. Eastern/3 p.m. Central Sundays on KET 1. To see the latest news about “Kentucky Afield” television and view your favorite show segments from the past, sign up today for the electronic newsletter. Visit fw.ky.gov on the Internet and click the Kentucky Afield Newsletter icon.