Kentucky Historical Society
New Historical Marker Notes Significance of Old Louisville Landmark
FRANKFORT, Ky. (June 18, 2014) – The Kentucky Historical Society (KHS) will unveil a new historical marker at 4 p.m. EDT June 25 at the Conrad-Caldwell House, 1402 St. James Court, in Louisville.
The house in the Old Louisville neighborhood dates to 1893-95 and is significant for its Richardsonian Romanesque architecture. Arthur Loomis, a local architect, built the house and incorporated such innovative features as indoor plumbing and electric lighting.
Also known for its woodwork and parquet floors, stained glass windows and elaborate stone designs, the house takes its name from the two prominent Louisville businessmen who owned it. Theophilus Conrad, a tannery owner, had it built. After Conrad’s death in 1905, William E. Caldwell purchased it. He manufactured wooden and steel tanks. The St. James Court Association has sponsored the marker. The association has owned the house since 1987 and operates it as a museum.
More than 2,200 historical markers statewide tell Kentucky’s history. More information about the marker application process, a database of markers and their text and the Explore Kentucky History app, a virtual tour of markers by theme, is at history.ky.gov/markers. KHS administers the Kentucky Historical Marker Program in cooperation with the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet.
For more information, contact Becky Riddle, Kentucky Historical Marker Program coordinator, at 502-564-1792, ext. 4474 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
The Kentucky Historical Society, an agency of the Kentucky Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet, was established in 1836 and is committed to helping people understand, cherish and share Kentucky’s history. The KHS history campus includes the Thomas D. Clark Center for Kentucky History, the Old State Capitol and the Kentucky Military History Museum at the State Arsenal. For more information about KHS and its programs, visit history.ky.gov.