Kentucky Historical Society
Kentucky Historical Society marker to honor Garden Hall in Frankfort
Ky. (Oct. 15, 2013) —
The Kentucky Historical Society (KHS) will dedicate a historical marker to commemorate
Garden Hall at noon Wednesday, Oct. 23, at 417 Wapping St. in
This Georgian home was built by Graham
Vreeland in 1913. He was founder, publisher and editor of the Frankfort News,
which later became The State Journal. The home’s architect was D. X. Murphy,
who designed the grandstand and twin spires at Churchill Downs in Louisville.
Paul Sawyier, one of Kentucky’s most renowned artists, lived on this property
from 1910 to 1912.
Historical Marker Program, administered by KHS in cooperation with the Kentucky
Transportation Cabinet, tells Kentucky’s story through on-the-spot history
lessons that connect the history, communities and items housed in the
Commonwealth’s many historical organizations. The program makes Kentucky’s history
accessible to the public not just on markers along the state’s roadways, but
also online at www.history.ky.gov/markers
and via the Explore Kentucky History smartphone application available free at
iTunes and Google Play.
For more information, contact Becky Riddle, Kentucky Historical Marker program
coordinator, at 502-564-1792, ext. 4474 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
agency of the Kentucky Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet and accredited by the American Alliance of Museums, the
Kentucky Historical Society, established in 1836, is committed to helping
people understand, cherish and share Kentucky's history by providing connections to the past, perspective on the
present and inspiration for the future. The KHS history campus includes the
Thomas D. Clark Center for Kentucky History, the Old State Capitol and the
Kentucky Military History Museum at the State Arsenal. For more information
about the Kentucky Historical Society and its programs, visit www.history.ky.gov.