Governor Ernie Fletcher’s Communications Office
Governor Fletcher Appoints Members to the Council on Postsecondary Education

Press Release Date:  Friday, July 13, 2007  
Contact Information:  Jodi Whitaker

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Governor Ernie Fletcher has appointed four new members to the Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education and reappointed a current member.

Virginia G. Fox, of Frankfort, who retired last fall as secretary of the Kentucky Education Cabinet, is a new appointee.  She previously served as executive director and chief executive officer of Kentucky Educational Television and as president and chief executive officer of the National Educational Telecommunications Association.  Fox has received numerous awards for her achievements in education and public service, including the Corporation for Public Broadcasting Lifetime Achievement Award in 2002 and the National School Public Relations Association Learning and Liberty Award in 2004.  She was the 2007 recipient of the General Educational Development Testing Service Lifetime Achievement Award presented by the American Council on Education.

Fox holds a bachelor’s degree in elementary education from Morehead State University and a master’s degree in library science from the University of Kentucky.  She has received honorary doctorate degrees from the University of Kentucky, Kentucky State University, Centre College, Pikeville College and Morehead State University.  She is married to Victor Fox. 

Bryan A. Blavatt, of Union, is also a new appointee.  Blavatt is the superintendent of Boone County Schools.  He has more than 40 years of experience in public education and has served on several national governing boards, including the American Association of School Administrators, the National Alliance for Safe Schools and the National Center of Education Research and Technology.  He is also a member of the Kentucky Association of School Administrators.  Blavatt holds a bachelor’s degree in education from the University of Maryland and is married to Barbara Blavatt. 

Governor Fletcher also appointed Dr. Suvas G. Desai, a Lexington urologist, as a new member of the council.  Desai is a former assistant professor of urology at the University of Kentucky College of Medicine.  He is past president of the American Association of Physicians from India and a member of the Kentucky Urological Association, the American Urological Association, the Kentucky Medical Association, the American Medical Association, the American Association of Clinical Urologists, the American College of Surgeons and the International College of Surgeons.  Desai has also served as a member of the Kentucky Medical Association Board of Trustees, the Kentucky Board of Nursing and the Kentucky State Board of Medical Licensure.

Desai received a pre-medical degree and a doctor of medicine degree from the University of Baroda in Baroda, India, and holds a master of business administration from the University of South Florida.  He is married to Nirmala Desai, who is a professor of pediatrics at the University of Kentucky College of Medicine. 

Joseph S. Weis, of Louisville, has also been newly appointed.  Weis is plant manager for Jones Plastic and Engineering.  He holds a bachelor’s degree in business from the University of Louisville and is a member of the national and local chapters of the Society of Human Resource Management.  He is married to Charlene Weis. 

Ryan Quarles, of Georgetown, has been reappointed to the council.  Quarles attends the University of Kentucky College of Law.  He received a bachelor’s degree in agriculture economics, public service and leadership and political science, a master’s degree in agricultural economics and a master’s degree in diplomacy from the University of Kentucky. 

Quarles was honored as a Truman Scholar in 2005 and as a Toyota Community Scholar in 2002, and has worked as an agriculture and interior intern for the office of U.S. Sen. Mitch McConnell.  He represents postsecondary students on the council.

The Council on Postsecondary Education is the state coordinating board for postsecondary and adult education in Kentucky.   The council coordinates change and improvement in postsecondary and adult education as directed by the Kentucky Postsecondary Education Improvement Act of 1997.   The council is made up of 13 citizen members, a faculty member and a student member appointed by the Governor.  The Kentucky Commissioner of Education serves as a nonvoting ex officio member.