Governor Ernie Fletcher’s Communications Office
Governor Ernie Fletcher Appoints Members to the Tourism Development Finance Authority

Press Release Date:  Wednesday, June 27, 2007  
Contact Information:  Jodi Whitaker

Northern Kentucky community leader Tom Caradonio appointed as chair

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Governor Ernie Fletcher has appointed three members to the Tourism Development Finance Authority and appointed a new chair for the group.

Michael B. McCoy, regional president of Citizens National Bank in Pikeville, was appointed as a new member.  McCoy received a bachelor’s degree in communications from the University of Kentucky.  He has served as a member of the Pikeville Independent Board of Education, the Pikeville Rotary Club and the Pike County Chamber of Commerce.  He is married to Jenifer McCoy.

Darrell BeShears, of Nancy, has also been appointed.  BeShears, the former judge-executive of Pulaski County, graduated from Nancy High School and is a member of the Veterans of Foreign Wars and the American Legion.  He is married to Janie BeShears.

Governor Fletcher also appointed John G. Treitz Jr., of Louisville, an attorney for Stoll, Keenon and Ogden PLLC.  Treitz received a bachelor’s degree in political science and a law degree from Vanderbilt University.  He is the former chairman of the Jefferson County Board of Elections and is married to Susan W. Treitz.

To chair the authority, Governor Fletcher appointed Tom Caradonio, of Fort Thomas.  Caradonio has been a member of the authority since 2001.  He is the president and chief executive officer of the Northern Kentucky Convention and Visitors Bureau and is past chairman of the Kentucky Tourism Council.  Caradonio also is a member of the board of directors of Southbank Partners, a community development organization which helped recruit the many new attractions to the northern Kentucky riverfront.  He attended Lamar University in Beaumont, Texas, and is married to Christie Caradonio.

The Tourism Development Finance Authority, established by the 2001 General Assembly, is responsible for administering requests for incentives available under the Kentucky Tourism Development Act and credits available through the Tourism Development Loan Program.  It is made up of seven members appointed by the Governor.