Governor Ernie Fletcher’s Communications Office
Governor Ernie Fletcher Appoints Members to the Kentucky Board of Housing, Buildings and Construction

Press Release Date:  Tuesday, June 19, 2007  
Contact Information:  Jodi Whitaker

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Governor Ernie Fletcher has appointed four members to the Kentucky Board of Housing, Buildings and Construction. 

Tod Allan Griffin, of Owenton, is vice president of the Kentucky Retail Federation.  Griffin received a bachelor’s degree in agricultural economics and business from the University of Kentucky.  He is past president of the Kentucky Agriculture Council and a member of the Kentucky Society of Association Executives Board of Directors.  He is married to Ashley Stewart Griffin and represents the Kentucky Retail Federation on the board.

Robert R. Johnson, of Georgetown, is business manager for the United Association of Plumbers and Pipefitters Local 452 in Lexington.  Johnson received an associate degree in applied sciences from Morehead State University.  He is married to Polly Ann Johnson and represents the Kentucky State Building and Construction Trades Council on the board.

Dale VanWinkle is the codes administrator for the city of Berea.  VanWinkle is a graduate of Madison Central High School and attended Eastern Kentucky University.  He is past president of the Code Administrators Association of Kentucky and the International Code Council Region V.  He is married to Reva VanWinkle and represents the Codes Administrators Association on the board.

Jerry A. Taylor, of Frankfort, is the principal architect and engineer for Taylor-Whitney Architects.  Taylor received bachelor’s degrees in architecture and engineering from the University of Kentucky.  He is a certified energy manager and certified indoor air quality professional, and is a member of the American Institute of Architects.  Taylor has been involved in the planning, design and construction of several major public projects, including the University of Kentucky Mechanical Engineering Building and the Knox County Hospital.  He is married to Nan P. Taylor and represents the Kentucky Society of Architects on the board.

The Kentucky Board of Housing, Buildings and Construction is made up of 16 members appointed by the Governor and four ex officio members.  The board coordinates the administration and oversight of Kentucky’s building industry.