Governor Ernie Fletcher’s Communications Office
Governor Ernie Fletcher Appoints Members to the Environmental Quality Commission

Press Release Date:  Thursday, February 15, 2007  
Contact Information:  Jodi Whitaker

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Governor Ernie Fletcher has appointed two members to the Environmental Quality Commission.

Scott R. Smith, of Lexington, is the former chief of staff and executive director of regulatory affairs for the Kentucky Environmental and Public Protection Cabinet.  Smith received a bachelor’s degree from Marshall University and a master’s degree from the West Virginia College of Graduate Studies.  He is a member of the Japan American Society Board of Directors and has served on the McConnell Springs Board of Directors, the Marshall University College of Environmental, Geotechnical, and Applied Science Advisory Board and the Living Arts and Science Center Executive Board.

Gordon R. Garner, of Prospect, is a vice president for CH2M Hill. Garner received a bachelor’s and master’s degree in civil engineering from the University of Kentucky.  He is the vice chair of the Kentucky Waterways Alliance.  He is the former commissioner of public works for Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government and was executive director of the Metropolitan Sewer District in Louisville. 

Garner is serving consecutive terms on the commission.

The Environmental Quality Commission is made up of seven gubernatorial appointees.  The commission facilitates public discussion and resolution of environmental issues, monitors environmental trends and conditions, promotes partnerships to protect the environment for future generations and serves as an advisory board to the Governor and other state officials on environmental matters.