Governor Ernie Fletcher’s Communications Office
Governor Ernie Fletcher Appoints Members to the Martin Luther King, Jr. State Commission

Press Release Date:  Friday, December 01, 2006  
Contact Information:  Jodi Whitaker

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Governor Ernie Fletcher has appointed seven members to the Martin Luther King, Jr. State Commission.

Ron Walker, Jr., of Lexington, is Assistant United States Attorney for the Eastern District of Kentucky.  Walker received a bachelor’s degree in political science and speech from Furman University and a law degree from the University of Kentucky College of Law.  He is president of the Fayette County Bar Association and is a member of the Kentucky Bar Association, the American Bar Association, the Kentucky Racial Bias Task Force, the University of Kentucky College of Law Alumni Board and the Volunteer Center of the Bluegrass Board of Directors.

Sheila Kavanaugh, of Danville, is a retired human resources worker.  Kavanaugh attended Eastern Kentucky University.  She is secretary of the local Federation of Women’s Club, president of the local Domestic Economy Club and a member of the Boyle County Planning and Zoning Board.  She is married to Chester Kavanaugh.

Billie J. Gray, of Harlan, is the bookkeeper for the Harlan County Board of Education.  Gray is a graduate of Western Kentucky Industrial College and is married to Willie Gray.

Yvette Monique Smith, of Frankfort, is the executive director of the Office of Equal Employment Opportunity and Contract Compliance within the state’s Finance and Administration Cabinet.  Smith attended Bryn Mawr College, where she majored in economics, and received a bachelor’s degree in organizational management from Midway College.  She was first appointed to the commission in 1996.

Emery Scott Lee, of Louisville, is a security supervisor for Andy Frain Security.  Lee received a bachelor’s degree in communications and a master’s degree in higher education from Eastern Kentucky University.  He is currently working on a doctorate degree in education from Spaulding University.  Lee is a member of Louisville Metro Dollars for Scholars, Service for Peace, the Louisville-Jefferson County chapter of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People and the Eastern Kentucky University Alumni Board. 

Katherine C. Hart, of Russellville, is a customer service representative for the Internal Revenue Service.  Hart received a degree in political science from Dillard University and is married to Raymond Hart.

Alvin Wayne Farris, of Shelbyville, is the human resource manager for Osram Sylvania.  Farris received a bachelor’s degree in political science and history from Eastern Kentucky University and a master’s degree from the Lexington Theological Seminary.  He is married to Sara Elaine Farris.

The Martin Luther King, Jr. State Commission is made up of 13 gubernatorial appointees.  The commission develops proposals for the festivities of the annual Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday celebration in Kentucky and sponsors a program to be held in tribute to Dr. King.