Governor Ernie Fletcher’s Communications Office
Governor Ernie Fletcher Appoints Members to the Kentucky Transportation Center Advisory Board

Press Release Date:  Wednesday, September 20, 2006  
Contact Information:  Jodi Whitaker

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Governor Ernie Fletcher has appointed six members to the Kentucky Transportation Center Advisory Board. 

Jeffrey Norwood Garrison, of Mount Sterling, is a civil engineer for The Walker Company.  He has a bachelor’s and master’s degree in civil engineering from the University of Kentucky.  He is a member of the National Society of Professional Engineers, the Kentucky Society for Professional Engineers and the American Society of Civil Engineers.  He is married to Kristi S. Garrison.

Thomas E. Holocher, mayor of Fort Mitchell, is a retired engineer.  He received an associate degree in electrical engineering from the University of Cincinnati and a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Thomas More College. He is a member of the Kentucky League of Cities Board of Directors and Executive Board, the National League of Cities Transportation Infrastructure Services Committee, the New Cities Foundation and the Northern Kentucky Area Planning Council.  He is married to Janet Holocher.

N.E. Reed, of Brownsville, is the Edmonson County Judge-Executive.  He is chairman of Southern Kentucky Community Action and vice-chairman of the Barren River Development District.  He is married to Beverly P. Reed.

Roger T. Daniel, of Paintsville, is the Johnson County Judge-Executive.  He is the director of the Big Sandy Education Foundation and a member of the Chamber of Commerce, the Kentucky Coal Counties Coalition, the Kentucky County Judge’s Association and the Kentucky Association of Counties.  He is married to Page Daniel.

Buddy J. Smith, of Paducah, is a project engineer for Paducah and McCracken Counties.  He received a degree in civil engineering from Tennessee Polytechnic Institute. 

Donovan W. Blackburn, city manager of Pikeville, is a member of the Kentucky League of Cities, the National League of Cities, Leadership Kentucky and Rotary.  He is married to Debbie Blackburn.

Blackburn is a new appointee to the board.  All others are serving consecutive terms.

The Kentucky Transportation Center Advisory Board is made up of nine members, six appointed by the governor and three ex-officios.  The board was established by the Kentucky General Assembly in 1984 to assist with policy formation and to provide direction to the center.