Governor Ernie Fletcher’s Communications Office
Governor Ernie Fletcher Appoints Two Members to the State Board of Accountancy

Press Release Date:  Wednesday, July 05, 2006  
Contact Information:  Jodi Whitaker

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Governor Ernie Fletcher has appointed John H. Hawkins, of Anchorage, and reappointed Sharon T. Walters, of Morehead, as members of the State Board of Accountancy.

Hawkins, who received his accounting degree from the University of Kentucky, is a certified public accountant for Deloitte.  He is a member of the Greater Louisville, Inc. Board of Directors and the University of Kentucky School of Accountancy Advisory Council. Hawkins also serves as treasurer of the Louisville Fund for the Arts.

Walters is a professor of accounting at Morehead State University.  She received her bachelor’s degree in accounting from Eastern New Mexico State and her master’s in business administration from Morehead State University. She is a member of the Kentucky Society of Certified Public Accountants and the American Accounting Association.  She is married to Michael Walters.

The Kentucky State Board of Accountancy is made up of seven gubernatorial appointees.  The board is responsible for protecting the public by licensing and regulating certified public accountants and CPA firms in Kentucky.