Governor Ernie Fletcher’s Communication Office
Governor Ernie Fletcher Appoints Members to the Kentucky Arts Council

Press Release Date:  Friday, April 07, 2006  
Contact Information:  Brett Hall
Jodi Whitaker
Troy Body

FRANKFORT, Ky. - Governor Ernie Fletcher has appointed four members to the Kentucky Arts Council. They are:

H. Dean Jones II, of Owensboro, is an executive for Texas Gas Transmission, LLC.  He received a degree in chemical engineering from the University of Kentucky.  He is on the board of directors for the Owensboro Museum of Fine Arts and Junior Achievement. He is married to Christina Jones.

K. Gail Russell, of Louisville, is an attorney for Goldberg and Simpson, P.S.C.  She received a bachelor’s degree in political science from the University of Mississippi and a juris doctor from the University of Kentucky.  She is a member of the Kiwanis Club of Louisville, Junior League of Louisville, Kentucky Opera Guild, Fillies Inc. and Jefferson Club Executive Women’s Council. Russell is also on the board of directors of the Louisville Deaf Oral School Foundation, Kentuckiana Girl Scout Development Advisory Board, Louisville Bar Association and Kentucky Bar Association.

Wilma Brown, of Danville, is the founder and executive director of the Community Arts Center in Danville and a professional portrait artist.  She received a bachelor’s degree from the University of Kentucky and a master’s degree from Marshall University.  She is a founding member of the Gathering Artists of Danville and a founding member of the Arts Commission of Danville/Boyle County.

Jean M. Dorton, of Paintsville, is the community and legislative liaison for the Big Sandy Community and Technical College. She received two associate degrees from Prestonsburg Community College and a bachelor’s degree in environmental science from Morehead State University.  She is a member of the Morehead State University Board of Regents and chairs the Prichard Committee for Academic Excellence and Personal Responsibility in a Desirable Environment (PRIDE). She is married to Dennis Dorton. Dorton is a reappointment to the council.

The Kentucky Arts Council is made up of 16 members appointed by the governor.  The council develops and promotes a broadly conceived state policy of support for the arts in Kentucky.