Governor Ernie Fletcher’s Communication Office
Governor Fletcher Makes Appointments to the School Curriculum, Assessment and Accountability Council

Press Release Date:  Thursday, March 30, 2006  
Contact Information:  Brett Hall
Jodi Whitaker
Troy Body

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Governor Ernie Fletcher has appointed four members to the School Curriculum, Assessment and Accountability Council. They are:

  • Barbara P. Juengling, of Ft. Thomas, the director of assessment and accountability for the Kenton County Board of Education. Juengling received her bachelor’s degree in French from Thomas More College and her master’s degree in education from Northern Kentucky University.  She is a member of the Kentucky Association of Assessment Coordinators and the Association for Curriculum Development. She was named Kentucky Distinguished Educator by the Kentucky Department of Education in 1995.
  • Robert F. Bihr, Jr., of Glasgow, the vice president of administration for the Associated Industries of Kentucky. Bihr received degrees in psychology and business from Farleigh Dickinson University.  He is president of the Foundation for Kentucky Industries and a member of the Barrow River Adult Vocational Education, the Bowling Green Technical College Board and the Kentucky Math Content Review Committee of 2005. Bihr is the founding president of the Industrial Training Consortium.  He is married to Helga Bihr.
  • Karen S. Byrd, of Florence, who works with the golf and web divisions of Sterling Cut Glass. Byrd is a graduate of Eastern Tennessee State University.  She is a member of the Boone County School Board, the Kentucky School Board Association and the National School Board Association.
  • Sandra S. Dunn, of Lexington, a seventh-grade language arts and social studies teacher at Beaumont Middle School in Fayette County. Dunn received her bachelor’s degree in music and education from Western Kentucky University and her master’s degree in elementary education from the University of Kentucky.  She is a Beaumont Middle School Team Leader and the Beta Club Sponsor. In 2005, Dunn received a Scholarship for National Board Certification in social studies.
    The School Curriculum, Assessment and Accountability Council is a  17-member council created by the 1998 General Assembly to advise the Legislative Research Commission and the Kentucky Board of Education on all issues related to setting academic standards and school assessment and accountability.  The council studies, reviews and makes recommendations concerning Kentucky’s system of setting academic standards, assessing learning, holding schools accountable for learning and assisting schools to improve their performances.