Governor Steve Beshear's Communications Office
Governor Beshear announces funds to provide equipment for school food service programs

Press Release Date:  Tuesday, August 18, 2009  
Contact Information:  Jay Blanton
Jill Midkiff

Kentucky at WorkFRANKFORT, Ky. – Schools in 47 Kentucky school districts will share $1,769,343 in funds from the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) to purchase equipment for school food service programs.

The one-time ARRA funds were made available via a Request for Proposals to Kentucky sponsors of the National School Lunch Program, including public schools, private schools and residential child care institutions. Grant funds are to be used for the purchase of equipment to enhance food quality, ensure food safety, increase energy efficiency and expand participation in the program. Items that may be purchased range from coolers to ovens to dishwashers.

“These funds will provide school districts with the ability to purchase updated items for their food service operations that will enable them to provide the highest-quality meals for students,” said Gov. Steve Beshear. “Good nutrition is crucial to children’s learning ability, and these funds provide Kentucky’s schools with the means to maintain their high standards of food service.”

Applications were scored by members of the Education and Nutrition Committees of the Kentucky School Nutrition Association. Funding amounts for each school were based on the equipment descriptions and estimated costs identified on the Priority Listing submitted with the applications.

The awards are contingent upon meeting all programmatic and reporting requirements of ARRA. School food authorities are required to follow all federal, state and local procurement laws when purchasing equipment under these grants.

Ballard Co.
Bardstown Ind.
Bell Co.
Bourbon Co.
Bowling Green Ind. 
Butler Co.
Campbellsville Ind.
Carlisle Co.
Carroll Co.
Clinton Co.
Danville Ind.
Daviess Co.
Edmonson Co.
Estill Co.
Fairview Ind.
Fayette Co.
Fleming Co.
Graves Co.
Grayson Co.
Green Co.
Greenup Co.
Hancock Co.
Hardin Co.
Harlan Co.
Hart Co.
Henry Co.
Hopkins Co.
Lincoln Co.
Logan Co.
Lyon Co.
Madison Co.
Marshall Co.
Martin Co.
Mason Co.
McCracken Co.
McLean Co.
Monroe Co.
Montgomery Co.
Oldham Co.
Powell Co.
Russell Co.
Shelby Co.
Silver Grove Ind.
Spencer Co.
Taylor Co.
Trimble Co.
Wayne Co.