Governor Steve Beshear's Communications Office
Governor Beshear Appoints David L. Armstrong as Chair of Kentucky Public Service Commission

Press Release Date:  Monday, June 02, 2008  
Contact Information:  Dick Brown

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Gov. Steve Beshear today appointed David L. Armstrong as Chair of the Kentucky Public Service Commission, effective June 1, 2008.  The governor also appointed James W. Gardner as Vice-Chair of the Commission, effective June 16, 2008.

“These gentlemen have extensive and diverse careers in the public and private sectors that will serve them well in administering an agency that works within the rapidly evolving regulatory environment,” said Gov. Beshear.  “The business of the Commonwealth will be accomplished with integrity and excellence under the management of these two individuals.”

Armstrong, of Louisville, has most recently worked as an attorney at Greenebaum Doll & McDonald, PLLC. His career has included service as Mayor of Louisville, County Judge/Executive of Jefferson County, Kentucky Attorney General, Commonwealth’s Attorney for the 30th Judicial District and Jefferson County juvenile court judge. Armstrong received his B.S. from Murray State University and his law degree from the University of Louisville School of Law. He replaces Mark David Goss who resigned May 2, 2008. Armstrong shall serve for a term expiring July 1, 2011.

Gardner, of Lexington, has most recently worked as an attorney at Henry Watz Gardner & Sellars, PLLC. He previously served on the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Council. Gardner received his B.A. from Georgetown College and his law degree from the University of Kentucky. He fills the unexpired term of Caroline Clark who resigned effective June 2, 2008. Gardner shall serve a full term effective July 1, 2008 and expiring July 1, 2012.

John W. Clay will continue his service as a PSC commissioner.  His term expires July 1, 2009.

The Kentucky Public Service Commission is composed of three commissioners who serve overlapping four-year terms.  It regulates more than 1,500 gas, water, sewer, electric and telecommunication utilities operating in the Commonwealth of Kentucky.  It is funded by an assessment paid by all utilities under the Commission’s jurisdiction based on a utility’s annual gross intrastate revenues.