Governor's Office for Local Development
Lincoln Trail Area Development District Wins 2005 Spirit of Kentucky Award

Press Release Date:  Monday, August 08, 2005  
Contact Information:  Samantha Cook
Public Information Officer

       The Lincoln Trail Area Development District (LTADD) was awarded the 2005 Spirit of Kentucky Award at the 30th Annual Governor’s Local Issues Conference held August 4-5, 2005, at the Galt House East in Louisville.  The Spirit of Kentucky Award is given to the Area Development District who submits a current project that demonstrates the effective coordination of government resources for multiple government entities.

         “Lincoln Trail’s project is a fantastic representation of what this award is all about,” said GOLD Commissioner Ellen Williams.  “The cities and counties in that region pulled together in order to provide better service to all those impacted.”

            The project was a collaborative effort of LTADD, Breckinridge County, LaRue County, Cloverport, Irvington, Hardinsburg, Hodgenville, Leitchfield, Caneyville, Clarkson, Raywick, Bradfordsville, Vine Grove and West Point.  Each government entity cooperated to submit an application for 2005 Homeland Security funding.  They identified numerous vulnerabilities and opportunities for improvement for all of their emergency first response agencies.  By submitting one application, county and city governments sought to maximize their efficiency and effectiveness by taking a regional approach.  The group received their funding and will now use their collective buying power to secure good pricing for equipment needs.  They requested $635,690.00 in Homeland Security funds.

            According to the application submitted by LTADD, “Rural communities serving large geographic areas with extremely limited resources can all benefit by joining forces to assess their vulnerabilities, create a spirit of cooperation and participate in mutual aid agreements and regional grant applications.”

            A total of nine Spirit of Kentucky Award nominations were submitted by various Area Development Districts.  Each project was judged by the following criteria:

           1.  Demonstration of interlocal cooperation and opportunity for fiscal efficiency.

           2.  Creativity and innovation.

           3.  Participation, effort and interest required.

           4.  Equitable, representative and cooperative funding participation.

           5.  Savings/benefit/value derived for government units.

            The Spirit of Kentucky Award is given annually at the Governor’s Local Issues Conference.  The Governor’s Local Issues Conference is made possible through the Kentucky Local Issues Board, a non-profit organization comprised of members from the Kentucky Association of Counties (KACo), the Kentucky Council of Area Development Districts (KYADD), the Kentucky Judge/Executives Association (KJEA), the Kentucky League of Cities (KLC) and the Commissioners and Magistrates Association (CMA).