Governor's Office for Local Development
Meade County Riverport Authority Awarded CEGG Funding

Press Release Date:  Monday, March 06, 2006  
Contact Information:  Samantha Cook
Public Information Officer

         Governor Ernie Fletcher and the Governor’s Office for Local Development (GOLD) today announced that the Meade County Riverport Authority (MCRA) will receive $206,000 in funding from the Community Economic Growth Grant (CEGG) program.

The fund, which was established during the 2005 General Assembly as HB 267, provides nearly $10 million in grant funds to be allocated during the 2005-2006 biennium.  

MCRA is requesting funds to complete the 1.16 mile access road to the riverport. The completion of the road will allow for necessary access to the riverport, helping to lay a foundation for continued economic development within the port.

“The Community Economic Growth Grant exemplifies what is possible when the Executive Branch and the Legislature work in a bi-partisan manner,” said Governor Ernie Fletcher.  “The infusion of these funds will result in over $99 million in successful projects across the Commonwealth.”

Senator Carroll Gibson (R-Leitchfield) said the new CEGG program is providing match funding for many outstanding projects. “This funding will enable implementation of a $1 million federal appropriation to complete an important phase of the overall riverport development. The positive impact of this funding is immeasurable in terms of economic development.”

Representative Gerry Lynn (R-Brandenburg) said the access road project opens up another avenue for getting farm commodities to the marketplace. “These funds will be put to good use by spurring economic development in the community.  This will serve as a shot in the arm to get industry moving into the area, creating jobs for our citizens.”

CEGG is administered by the Governor’s Office for Local Development through the Kentucky Community Development Office (KCDO).  The goal of the program is to provide flexible funding to support and encourage the economic growth and viability of communities within the Commonwealth.

Counties, cities, special districts and school districts were eligible to apply for this year’s funding. Monies can be utilized for construction, acquisition of property, equipment purchase, industrial site development, infrastructure and capital improvement projects.