Kentucky Division of Forestry
Kentucky’s Wildland Fire Prevention and Education Team Receives National Award

Press Release Date:  Wednesday, October 14, 2009  
Contact Information:  Lynn Brammer

Commonwealth of Kentucky
Energy and Environment Cabinet

Steven L. Beshear, Governor    
Len Peters, Secretary

Lynn Brammer
Division of Forestry

Kentucky’s Wildland Fire Prevention and Education Team Receives National Award

 FRANKFORT, KY – (Oct. 13, 2009) – Kentucky’s Wildland Fire Prevention and Education Team recently received the Silver Smokey Bear Award.   The award was presented to the team for outstanding work in wildland fire prevention in southeast Kentucky and surrounding states.  This merit award has been bestowed on well deserving groups and individuals annually since 1957 by the National Cooperative Forest Fire Prevention Committee. 
 “The Silver Smokey Award is given to organizations or individuals who have a significant impact on wildland fire prevention within a regional scope over a minimum two-year period,” said Leah MacSwords, director of the Kentucky Division of Forestry. 
 MacSwords presented the award at the Governor’s Conference on the Environment in early October.  Jim Funk, Jennifer Turner, Evelyn Morgan, and Gwen Hensley accepted the award on behalf of the team. 
 Through the Cooperative Forest Fire Prevention (CFFP) Program, the USDA Forest Service, the National Association of State Foresters (NASF), and the Advertising Council sponsor the national Smokey Bear Awards to recognize outstanding service in the prevention of human caused wildfires and to increase public recognition and awareness of the need for continuing wildfire prevention efforts.   Smokey Bear Awards are chosen through a nomination process and a maximum of five silver awards are handed out annually across the country.
 For more information about wildfire prevention, visit the KDF Web site at