Finance and Administration Cabinet
COT presents “Best of Kentucky” Awards at Digital Summit

Press Release Date:  Friday, April 25, 2008  
Contact Information:  Jill Midkiff, 502/564-4240  

FRANKFORT, Ky.–The Commonwealth Office of Technology (COT) presented the third annual “Best of Kentucky” awards at the Kentucky Digital Summit this week at the Embassy Suites in Lexington.

The summit, co-sponsored for the past eight years by COT and Government Technology Magazine, recognizes outstanding individuals and programs that have made information technology contributions to the public sector. Each of the following peer-nominated award winners was chosen from nearly 50 possible nominees: 

Visionary Award—Lorna S. Jones, Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services and Timothy C. Ferguson, Northern Kentucky University.

Best Application Serving a Public Organization—Career Opportunities System; Carla Hawkins and Barbara Barnes, Personnel Cabinet.

Best Application Serving the Public—; Ann Riggs and Gail Hiley, Education Cabinet; Stuart Johnson, Sharon Buchanan and Jill Thompson, Council on Post Secondary Education.

Best Application Serving the Public—Telecheck; David Bruce and Chip Quarles, Department of Fish and Wildlife.

Best IT Collaboration—RegWatch; Craig Kelly, Economic Development; Steve Dooley, COT; and numerous other state agencies, boards and commissions.

Most Innovative Use of Technology, Government—KVETS (Kentucky Vital Events Tracking System); Kathy Frye, Gargi Chatterjee and Dr. Kraig Humbaugh, Cabinet for Health and Family Services.

Most Innovative Use of Technology, Education—Kentucky Internet2 Initiative; Allen E. Lind and Miko Pattie, Council on Postsecondary Education; Doyle Friskney, University of Kentucky; Priscilla Hancock and Tom Sawyer, University of Louisville; Ann Riggs, Education Cabinet; David Couch, Department of Education; Rene True, ConnectKentucky; Brian Kiser, COT; Mike Clark, Kentucky Educational Television; Vince Marletta, Windstream; and Sheri Rose, AT&T.

Best Online Services—Kentucky Mine Mapping; Marvin Terry, Bryan Bunch, Tony Sturgill, Steve Pigg, John Hiett and Tom Schubert, Kentucky Environmental and Public Protection Cabinet.

Most Innovative Use of Technology, Local Government—Wireless Mesh Network; Brent Graden, City of Prestonsburg and Rene True, ConnectKentucky.

Best Security Initiative— Cabinet for Health and Family Services; Sandeep Kapoor, Richard Chapman and Melba Story, Office of Information Technology.

“This year's Best of Kentucky award winners exemplify what technology in Kentucky is all about,” said COT Commissioner Steve Dooley. “These individuals and projects highlight the leadership and innovation that are helping Kentucky excel in its digital government efforts.”