Environmental and Public Protection Cabinet
Environmental Protection directors named

Press Release Date:  Wednesday, April 16, 2008  
Contact Information:  Jim Carroll, 502-564-7760  

FRANKFORT, Ky. (April 16, 2008) –  Environmental and Public Protection Cabinet Secretary Robert Vance today announced the appointment of two division directors in the Department for Environmental Protection (DEP).

Sandy Gruzesky has been named director of the Division of Water, while Anthony R. Hatton has been appointed director of the Division of Waste Management. Both had been serving as acting directors.

DEP Commissioner R. Bruce Scott said he was pleased by the appointments.

“I am very excited about the appointments of Sandy and Tony,” Scott said. “They both possess the experience, specialized program knowledge and leadership skills to take on the complex and important responsibilities of the divisions of Water and Waste Management, respectively. The commonwealth is fortunate to have individuals of their ability to lead these two divisions.”

Gruzesky joined the Division of Water in 1994. She served as assistant director beginning in 2002, and as acting director for the past year.

Gruzesky also has served in both active and reserve duty in the U.S. Navy Civil Engineer Corps. She is a licensed professional engineer and holds a Master of Science in civil engineering from the University of Kentucky.

Hatton joined the Division of Waste Management nine years ago. He was assistant division director for the past six years.

Hatton has held a variety of positions in the public and private sector, including key positions overseeing environmental cleanups at Superfund, Department of Defense and Department of Energy sites. He holds a Master of Science in geology from Eastern Kentucky University.