Skip to the content of the page.
State Agency List Calendar Newsroom Site MapHelp CenterAdvanced Search
State Seal Kentucky Division of Energy
Kentucky Division of Energy Realigned Into the New Office of Energy Policy
Press Release Date:  April 21, 2005
John Davies
(502) 564-7192


          Frankfort, KY, (April 21, 2005) – During the 2005 legislative session, the Kentucky General Assembly passed Senate Bill 41.  This reorganization bill realigned state cabinets and agencies to better serve the citizens of the Commonwealth.  Due to SB 41, the Kentucky Division of Energy will be moved from the Environmental and Public Protection Cabinet – Department for Natural Resources to the Commerce Cabinet – Office of Energy Policy.  On April 26, the staff of the Division of Energy will be relocated to the twelfth floor of the Capital Plaza Tower.   

          On February 7, Governor Ernie Fletcher announced a new comprehensive energy strategy for the Commonwealth.  The Governor’s energy strategy outlines ways Kentuckians can improve energy efficiency, use more renewable energy, maintain the state’s low electric rates as well as promote growth in the coal and natural gas industries.  The strategy is a balanced approach designed to leave the next generation with a more prosperous and more beautiful Kentucky.

          One of the key aspects of the Governor’s energy plan is energy efficiency and renewable energy.  To forward these goals, the Division of Energy is becoming part of the new Office of Energy Policy.  Andrew McNeil, Chief of Staff of the Commerce Cabinet, has been appointed by Governor Fletcher as the interim executive director of the Office.  The search for a permanent director of the Office of Energy Policy is underway and the new director is expected to be announced in the near future.



Last updated: Thursday, April 21, 2005