Governor Ernie Fletcher’s Communications Office
Kentucky's 120 Counties Receive Disaster Designation From USDA

Press Release Date:  Tuesday, October 02, 2007  
Contact Information:  Jodi Whitaker

Angela Blank

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Governor Fletcher has received word from the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) that all 120 Kentucky counties are currently eligible for emergency loans.

On August 29, 2007, Governor Ernie Fletcher requested a disaster designation for the entire Commonwealth of Kentucky due to losses caused by the exceptional drought conditions that began in February 2007 and continue today.

In response to this letter, the USDA reviewed the Damage Assessment Reports and other related information for all 120 counties and determined that all counties sustained sufficient production losses to warrant a Secretarial disaster designation.

“I am extremely pleased Acting Agriculture Secretary Chuck Conner made USDA emergency assistance available to help aid our farmers across the Commonwealth,” said Governor Fletcher. “Kentucky experienced the third driest May through August in 113 years, with lower than normal rainfall and temperatures higher than normal in the past several months which led to this state of disaster. This assistance will help lessen the impact felt by our Kentucky farmers. ”

For more information on drought assistance, visit your local USDA/Farm Service Agency office or visit the USDA’s website at