Governor Ernie Fletcher’s Communications Office
USDA Grants April Freeze Disaster Designation Request

Press Release Date:  Wednesday, June 06, 2007  
Contact Information:  Jodi Whitaker

Angela Blank

All 120 Kentucky counties eligible for emergency loans

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Governor Ernie Fletcher has received notification from the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) that all 120 Kentucky counties are eligible for emergency loans.

On April 17, 2007, Governor Fletcher requested a statewide disaster designation due to crop losses caused by extremely cold temperatures that occurred April 5-10, 2007.

In response to the Governor’s request, the USDA reviewed damage assessment reports and other related information for all 120 counties.  It was determined that 118 counties sustained sufficient production losses to warrant a disaster designation by Secretary Mike Johanns.  Two counties were deemed eligible as adjacent counties.

“I am pleased Secretary Johanns has made USDA emergency assistance available to farmers across the Commonwealth,” said Governor Fletcher. “Kentucky experienced lower than normal temperatures resulting in crop losses throughout the entire state. We appreciate the USDA’s work to help protect our Kentucky farmers.”

For more information, visit a local USDA/Farm Service Agency office or visit the USDA’s Web site at