Governor Ernie Fletcher’s Communication Office
Outstanding Service Honored at Annual Governor's Volunteer Awards Ceremony

Press Release Date:  Monday, April 24, 2006  
Contact Information:  Brett Hall
Jodi Whitaker
Troy Body

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Governor Ernie Fletcher and the Kentucky Commission on Community Volunteerism and Service (KCCVS) in the Cabinet for Health and Family Services today announced the winners of the 2005 Governor’s Volunteer Awards. An awards presentation ceremony was held at the state Capitol in Frankfort.

A panel of judges with volunteer and community service backgrounds chose 18 winners in 10 categories.

Governor Fletcher said Kentuckians volunteer at a rate that exceeds the national average.

“The spirit of volunteerism and community service is almost a genetic trait for most Kentuckians,” said Governor Fletcher. “That spirit of service established, built and sustains Kentucky. It always has and always will play a big role in this state’s growth and success.”

The Governor’s Office launched the awards program in 1975. Since 1995, KCCVS has administered the program. 

Jane Stephenson of Lexington and Robert A. Reid of Simpsonville received Lifetime Achievement Awards, and YUM! Brands of Louisville was honored for its support of volunteer programs.

Eileen Cackowski, KCCVS director, said the awards program will include a new category next year to recognize volunteerism among the faith-based community.

“Every day, churches, temples, mosques and other religious congregations are giving the gifts of personal time, talent and resources to meet needs all across Kentucky,” Cackowski said. “The Volunteering Through Faith Communities award category will shine much deserved light on this important segment of the service population.”


Lifetime Achievement Award - Robert A Reid
Simpsonville/Shelby County
Nominated by Edwin O. Walker

Lifetime Achievement Award - Jane Stephenson
Lexington/Fayette County
Nominated by Shirley Thompson

Impact Youth Award - Colby Khoshreza
Pikeville/Pike County
Nominated by Rosalind Stanley

Impact Adult Award - Sandra Myers                     
Cadiz/Trigg County
Nominated by Tim McGinnis

Innovation Youth Award - Jon Preneta
Nicholasville/Jessamine County
Nominated by Jessica Melton

Innovation Adult Award - Linda Dalton      
Ashland/Boyd County
Nominated by Pamela Huwieler

Citizen’s Corps Individual Award - Barb Cook
Covington/Kenton County
Nominated by Butch Callery

Citizens’ Corps Group Award - Dwayne Hite, Michael Jones and Joe Clary
Philpot/Daviess County
Nominated by Vickie Connor

Volunteer Support Award - Yum! Brands
Louisville/Jefferson County
Nominated by Patricia Kenkel

National Service Individual Award - Billy Corder
Stearns/McCreary County
Nominated by Donna Thrush

National Service Group Award - Volunteers of the Pennyrile Allied Community Services-Retired and Senior Volunteer Program
Christian, Hopkins, Muhlenberg and Trigg Counties
Nominated by Patricia Evans

Non-Profit Group Award - Habitat for Humanity of Madison County
Richmond/Madison County
Nominated by Guy Patrick

Special Category: Individual Award - Marilu Goodsell
Owensboro/Daviess County
Nominated by Sondra Mattingly

Special Category: Group Award - Oakland Mt. Zion Baptist Church
Oakland/Warren County
Nominated by Joyce Scheidt

Director of Volunteer Service Award - James Herman Garrett
Louisville/Jefferson County
Nominated by Marilyn Markwell

Challenge Adult Award: George Moorman
Lexington/Fayette County
Nominated by Lynda Brown Wright

Challenge Adult Award - Mary Smiley Banks
Henderson/Henderson County
Nominated by Cathy Campbell

Challenge Youth Award - Jamie Douglas
Williamsburg/Whitley County
Nominated by Vestena Robbins