Skip to the content of the page.
State Agency List Calendar Newsroom Site MapHelp CenterAdvanced Search
State Seal Commonwealth of Kentucky Governor Ernie Fletcher’s Communications Office
Governor Ernie Fletcher and First Lady Glenna Fletcher to Celebrate the Life and Accomplishments of Martin Luther King, Jr.
Press Release Date:  January 12, 2005
Contact:  Doug Hogan
Jeannie Lausche

Frankfort, KY: Governor Ernie Fletcher and the First Lady Glenna Fletcher will attend the Martin Luther King, Jr. Annual Celebration on Wednesday, January 12, 2005 at the Governor’s Mansion in Frankfort, Kentucky from 5:00 to 6:00 p.m.

"Martin Luther King, Jr. was a pioneer in our country’s civil rights movement, and it’s critical for us to take the time each year to remember what he did to change the culture in America,” said Governor Fletcher.

During the celebration, The Martin Luther King, Jr. State Commissioners will present the Martin Luther King Citizenship Award for 2005. The award will be given posthumously to Diane Harris of Versailles (1952-2004). Harris worked in state government for 10 years, including the Governor's Office of Constituent Services, Department for Local Government, and the Department of Transportation. She served on the commission from January 2001 until her death. The award will be presented to her family at the celebration.  Now in its fourth year, the MLK Citizenship Award has been given by the commission to a member of the community who has exemplified Dr. King’s principles of racial equality and nonviolent social change.

Speakers will include Governor Ernie Fletcher and Kentucky Education Secretary Virginia G. Fox. Dr. Mary Evans Sias, president of Kentucky State University (KSU), will give the keynote address. Dr. Carl Smith and a choral ensemble from KSU will perform.

Martin Luther King, Jr. State Commission members include: Alvin Wayne Farris, Winchester; Katherine C. Hart, Russellville; Nang-Ping White, Hopkinsville; Beulah L. Bridgewaters, Louisville; Gayle S. Graham, Louisville; Henry Moore Humphrey, Louisville; Bishop Michael Ford, Prospect; Emery S. Lee, Louisville; Yvette Smith, Frankfort; and Helen Le Ascani, Hazard.

WHEN: Wednesday, January 12, 2005 from 5:00 to 6:00 p.m. EDT

WHERE: Governor’s Mansion in Frankfort, Ky.

WHY: The Martin Luther King, Jr. State Commission sponsors the Martin Luther King, Jr. Annual Celebration. The commission is an agency in the Kentucky Education Cabinet. Founded in August 1992, the mission of the Martin Luther King, Jr. State Commission is to promote the principles of racial equality and nonviolent social change espoused by the late civil rights leader.  The 13-member commission, appointed by the Governor, focuses on Dr. King's dream for all Americans to experience full equality, economic justice, and interracial harmony.  For more information about the commission, visit

 or call (502) 564-6606, ext. 128.




Last updated: Thursday, June 02, 2005