Skip to the content of the page.
State Agency List Calendar Newsroom Site MapHelp CenterAdvanced Search
State Seal Commonwealth of Kentucky Governor Ernie Fletcher’s Communications Office
Equine Drug Research Council Appointed by Governor Fletcher
Press Release Date:  November 23, 2004
Contact:  Doug Hogan
Jeannie Lausche
Jason Keller

Advises Horse Racing Authority on research, testing

Frankfort, KY: Governor Ernie Fletcher has appointed seven new members to the Kentucky Equine Drug Research Council and reappointed two others.

The governor, by executive order, designated Connie Whitfield of Hopkinsville, vice-chair of the Kentucky Horse Racing Authority (KHRA), as chair of the council.

The council was created to advise the KHRA on research and testing of equine drugs. By law, the council reviews testing research conducted at the University of Kentucky or conducted elsewhere with state funds.

Also reappointed was Alice Headley Chandler of Mill Ridge Farm in Lexington. She represents the Kentucky Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association.

            New members appointed by Governor Fletcher:

  • State Sen. Damon Thayer, Georgetown, representing legislators.
  • Susan Bunning, Lexington, representing the Horsemen’s Benevolent and Protective Association.
  • Alan J. Leavitt, Lexington, representing the harness racing industry.
  • Dr. Fairfield Bain, Georgetown, a veterinarian representing the Kentucky Association of Equine Veterinarians.
  • John Ward, Paris, representing a licensed racing association.
  • William Edgar Napier, Versailles, representing the Kentucky Division of Harness Horsemen International.
  • Dr. Atwood C. Asbury, Versailles, representing pharmacologists.

The terms will expire Aug. 1, 2008, according to the governor’s order.

# # #


Last updated: Thursday, June 02, 2005