Skip to the content of the page.
State Agency List Calendar Newsroom Site MapHelp CenterAdvanced Search
State Seal Commonwealth of Kentucky Governor Ernie Fletcher’s Communications Office
Governor Fletcher Announces the Formation of the Commonwealth Energy Policy Task Force
Press Release Date:  November 05, 2004
Contact:  Doug Hogan
Jeannie Lausche
Jason Keller

Frankfort, KY: Governor Ernie Fletcher announced today the formation of the Commonwealth Energy Policy Task Force.  He charged the Task Force with finalizing a comprehensive energy strategy for the state of Kentucky.

“Kentucky is one of only a few states that does not have a comprehensive energy strategy,” stated Governor Fletcher. “This neglect is hard to believe given the energy resources inherent to our Commonwealth. That neglect ends today.”

The citizens and businesses of Kentucky currently enjoy some of the lowest energy rates in the United States. Kentucky’s residential electric is among the lowest in the nation while Kentucky’s industrial electric is the lowest in the nation.

“Unfortunately, low cost energy for Kentuckians is not guaranteed,” stated Governor Fletcher. “We must comprehensively plan to preserve this advantage for all Kentuckians.”

Governor Fletcher said that the final strategy must conform to three central principles:

• Maintain Kentucky’s low-cost energy.
• Responsibly develop Kentucky’s energy resources.
• Preserve Kentucky’s commitment to environmental quality.

“Responsible energy development and a commitment to preserving our environment are not mutually exclusive of one another,” stated Governor Fletcher. “We can find the proper balance.”

The Commonwealth Energy Policy Task Force consists of:

• Dr. Allyson Handley, Secretary of the Executive Cabinet
• Jim Host, Secretary of Commerce   
• LaJuana Wilcher, Secretary of Environmental and Public Protection
• Gene Strong, Secretary of Economic Development
• Robbie Rudolph, Secretary of Finance and Administration
• Virginia Fox, Secretary of Education
• Senator Robert Stivers
• Representative Tanya Pullin

Secretary Host and Secretary Wilcher will serve as co-chairs of the task force.
Governor Fletcher was encouraged by the cooperation of Senator Stivers and Representative Pullin. “I am optimistic that by including the co-chairs of the LRC interim subcommittee on Energy, we can build the necessary bi-partisan support on energy issues to move this state forward.”

The task force will meet on the following days at the following locations:




Nov. 12th 8 am – 2:00 pm (w/ lunch break) Central Kentucky Technical College*
Nov. 15th 8 am – 2:00 pm (w/ lunch break) Hazard Community and Technical College*
Nov. 17th 8 am – 2:00 pm (w/ lunch break) Hopkinsville Community College*

 *See KCTCS web site for addresses and directions.

The task force meetings will be open to the public. 

# # #


Last updated: Thursday, June 02, 2005