Skip to the content of the page.
State Agency List Calendar Newsroom Site MapHelp CenterAdvanced Search
State Seal Commonwealth of Kentucky Governor Ernie Fletcher’s Communications Office
Governor Ernie Fletcher and Executive Cabinet to Host Town Hall Meeting and Tour Somerset
Press Release Date:  August 16, 2004
Contact:  Doug Hogan
Jeannie Lausche
Jason Keller

Frankfort, KY: Governor Ernie Fletcher and members of his Executive Cabinet will be hosting a Town Hall meeting this week in Somerset.  The public is invited to attend and ask questions at the town hall on Friday, August 20, 2004.  The central point for the town hall meeting will be the Center for Rural Development in Somerset. Governor Fletcher and cabinet members will also be meeting Congressman Hal Rogers for a tour of the Center.

The Town Hall meeting marks the first of Governor Fletcher’s administration as he and his Cabinet will also be touring several area businesses.

“I invite people from across the Cumberland region to attend the first Town Hall meeting of my administration, and I look forward to discussing the issues that are important to every Kentuckian,” stated Governor Fletcher. “I believe this is an excellent opportunity for residents to talk about the issues and present ideas that will make Kentucky a better place to live and work. I look forward to sharing in this discussion.  My cabinet secretaries and several commissioners will also be on hand to address concerns that relate to their specific areas of expertise.”

The town hall meeting will be open the public and begin at 3:45 p.m. at the Center. The meeting will be broadcast, via video conference, to 12 locations throughout the 5th Congressional District. In addition to The Center for Rural Development, the following CenterNet sites will broadcast the event live:

Cumberland Region

Adair County – Columbia
Lindsey Wilson College
210 Lindsey Wilson Street

Bell County - Pineville
Pineville Independent School
401 Virginia Avenue

Clay County – Manchester
Clay County Medical Center
509 Memorial Drive, Suite 2

Clinton County - Albany
Clinton County Learning Center
300 King Drive

Harlan County - Harlan
Community Learning Center
420 E. Central Street

Jackson County - McKee
Area Technology Center
1000 Education Mountain Drive

Knox County - Barbourville
Union College Sharp
Academic Center
310 College Street

Taylor County - Campbellsville
Campbellsville University
Technology Training Center
1 University Drive

East Kentucky Region

Floyd County - Prestonsburg
Mountain Arts Center
One Hal Rogers Drive

Morgan County - West Liberty
UK Regional Technology Center
150 University Drive

Perry County – Hazard
Hazard Community College
One Community College Drive

Pike County - Pikeville
Pikeville College
Community Technology Center
119 College Street, Room 134

 # # #


Last updated: Thursday, June 02, 2005