Skip to the content of the page.
State Agency List Calendar Newsroom Site MapHelp CenterAdvanced Search
State Seal Commonwealth of Kentucky Governor Ernie Fletcher’s Communications Office
Governor Ernie Fletcher Signs Executive Order for Reorganization of the Executive Branch of State Government
Press Release Date:  July 09, 2004
Contact:  Doug Hogan
Jeannie Lausche
Jason Keller

Frankfort, KY: Governor Ernie Fletcher signed today an executive order authorizing the reorganization of state government. The executive order puts into effect both Phase I and Phase II modifications proposed by the Governor’s Blue Ribbon Commission on Governmental Organization and Efficiency.

“I am very pleased to announce today the next phase of reorganization that will allow us to further streamline and enhance the services provided by state government,” stated Governor Ernie Fletcher. “For over six months now, my administration has been continually striving to deliver greater efficiencies and productivity in state government and I would again like to thank the Blue Ribbon Commission, my Cabinet Secretaries, and the many hard-working state employees for their tremendous help.”

The signing of this order signals the secondary implementation phase of reorganization.

Members of the Blue Ribbon Commission include: Bruce Lunsford, the Honorable Richard Murgatroyd, Virginia G. Fox, Don Bowles, Bob Ramsey, John Hall, Alois Moore, Margaret Handmaker, Bill Street, Cathy Bailey, the Honorable Mike Buchanan, Dr. Lee Todd, ex officio, Dr. Jim Ramsey, ex officio, Dr. Michael McCall, ex officio, John David Preston, ex officio—General Counsel, John McCarthy—Staff and Andrew V. McNeill—Staff.

Governor Fletcher continued, “As we continue to dig down into the layers of government, we are continually finding areas that we believe can be improved upon and reorganized. I believe that today’s announcement will bring us one step closer in this process.”

# # #


Last updated: Thursday, June 02, 2005