Governor Ernie Fletcher’s Communication Office
President Bush orders federal aid to Kentucky

Press Release Date:  Friday, December 02, 2005  
Contact Information:  Brett Hall
Jodi Whitaker

President declares major disaster in counties hit by Nov. 15 storms 

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Governor Ernie Fletcher and the Kentucky Division of Emergency Management have received notification from Washington that President George Bush has declared a major disaster exists in the Commonwealth of Kentucky. 

Through the declaration, President Bush ordered Federal aid to supplement Kentucky and local recovery efforts in the areas struck by severe storms and tornadoes on November 15, 2005. Federal funding will be available to affected individuals in Hopkins and Marshall Counties. 

“The amount of personal loss suffered in this storm was tremendous, as I saw first hand when visiting these counties the day after the storms,” said Governor Fletcher. “I appreciate President Bush’s declaration – an action that we hope will make it easier for a number of Kentuckians in this difficult time. 

Residents who suffered damage or losses (not covered by insurance) from the severe storms, tornados and flooding in Hopkins and Marshall Counties November 15, 2005 must call to apply for state and federal disaster assistance.

Affected residents and businesses are encouraged to begin the application process as soon as possible by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY), for the hearing and speech impaired. These assistance call centers are staffed by employees from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). 

“Applying for assistance is the first step in the recovery process,” said Buddy Rogers, public information officer for Kentucky Division of Emergency Management.  “You need to register before they can help.”

Disaster Recovery Centers are expected to open early next week, possibly as soon as Monday in the declared counties.  FEMA personnel will man these centers.  

Locations are: County Government Center, 800 North Main Street, Madisonville, Ky. and Marshall Co. Courthouse, Courthouse Square (between 11th and 12th Street), Benton, Ky.

Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) is a facility established in, or in close proximity to, the community affected by the disaster where persons can meet face-to-face with represented Federal, State, local, and volunteer agencies to:

  • Discuss their disaster-related needs
  • Obtain information about disaster assistance programs
  • Tele-register for assistance
  • Update registration information
  • Learn about measures for rebuilding that can eliminate or reduce the risk of future loss

Assistance can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs or other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are also available to cover residential and business losses not compensated by insurance.

For additional information please go to the FEMA Web site at: .